Reviews for XRAY XB808E 2010 Spec Luxury 1/8 Electric Off-Road Buggy Kit [XRA350150]

Displaying reviews 1 to 6 of 6
Result Pages: 1
HighClassBasher
Monday, Oct 25 2010 (about 5 years ago)
XRAY XB808E 2010 Spec Luxury 1/8 Electric Off-Road Buggy Kit
I have built a lot of kits, but never an Xray.... I just built one of these and these things are beautiful. Literally a piece of art work. Just the instruction manuals themselves are absolutely incredible. Anyone that has never had an Xray, I highly recommend trying one out!
Dallas_Racer_666
Verified Owner
Monday, Dec 27 2010 (about 5 years ago)
XRAY XB808E 2010 Spec Luxury 1/8 Electric Off-Road Buggy Kit
I have finished building my kit and I must say Xray quality is outstanding. The buggy is built like a tank and looks like it should stand up to a few seasons of heavy racing/practice. Pros 1)Fantastic fit and finish. I did not have any issues with part fitment other than the motor shaft issue listed below. 2)Drive train parts are of the highest quality making the drivetrain buttery smooth. 3)Documentation is very well illustrated. The best that I have seen. 4)High quality fasteners that don't need to be replaced with an aftermarket screw kit. 5)Strength is preserved while weight is kept to a minimum. 6)Suspension parts move smoothly without being loose. This tells me that this kit is built within very strict tolerances. Cons 1)Not enough room behind the radio tray for the Tekin 2050 motor shaft. Xray now offers a spacer for $5 that resolves the issue. This should be provided with the kit or given to kit owners for free. 2)Spur gear does not have a cover to keep the lipo from coming in contact with it in a major crash. I have not taken the buggy to the track so this may be a non issue but looks like it could be a problem. 3)Shocks are not as smooth as they should be. Very difficult to get the proper rebound setup. Not on the same level as my Losi 8ight shocks. If this buggy performs as good as it looks i'll be a happy man! I would have given it 5 stars but the shocks aren't the same quality as the rest of the kit.
FactoryJ
Verified Owner
Saturday, Jan 1 2011 (about 5 years ago)
XRAY XB808E 2010 Spec Luxury 1/8 Electric Off-Road Buggy Kit
This quality of this kit is excellent and all of the major components of the car are designed to last! I did have a minor problem with the motor shaft hitting the radio box, but the Xray shim fixes this with no problem… so make sure you order this shim if you are using a motor with a shaft longer than 18mm like a Tekin. I have raced this kit one time and it handled great out of the box! The only problem I had is that I wrecked hard on the wing and it elongated two of the adjuster holes into one long hole. This makes the wing lower on one side whenever I wreck on the wing again so I just have to reposition the wing and it is good to go again. I have bought a new wing post kit to fix this, but it might have been better if the adjusters were made out of carbon fiber to prevent this. Maybe it is plastic to prevent major damage elsewhere? I guess the real solution is to not cartwheel the car, but considering how hard I wrecked during my first race I am surprised nothing major broke like would have been the case with my Associated SC10.
Adam C
Thursday, Apr 18 2013 (about 3 years ago)
XRAY XB808E 2010 Spec Luxury 1/8 Electric Off-Road Buggy Kit
I have had my 808e for a year now running the orion r8 esc and 2400 4pole setup and it owns anything it comes accross. You get a cheesy smile on your face every time you enter and exit a corner. If you build it like a pro and do not rush , ther is no next level up in 1/8 racing buggys ,,, this is it!. The only bad thing i can say is, parts are at the higher end of the price range but if your a racer, you dont mind the bit extra for quality. its not a poor mans hobby at the top end of racing. I used to bash mine in between racing and the only thing to break 2 parts on it was a sandstone boulder headon at 96kmh. I cryed a little bit inside.
the Notorious M.I.K.E
Verified Owner
Tuesday, May 10 2011 (about 5 years ago)
XRAY XB808E 2010 Spec Luxury 1/8 Electric Off-Road Buggy Kit
My first 8th scale. No experience with xray but i fell in love with the 808e on their site and decided to take the plunge. Unbelievable fit an finish. Manual is by far the best quality ive ever seen. Super smooth drive train and by far the best quality materials being used in the rc market today. My first time bringing it out turned so many heads I spent more time talking to other hobbyists about the buggy than running it. Once i did get it ripping around the track it wasnt long to impress people, in fact the owner of the race complex asked to give it a shot and was equally impressed(trying to get him to carry xray products now !). This is the first xray our local track has seen but i have a feeling it wont be the last. This thing is going to be a trend setter.
JSEEE
Verified Owner
Saturday, Feb 26 2011 (about 5 years ago)
XRAY XB808E 2010 Spec Luxury 1/8 Electric Off-Road Buggy Kit
This is a great kit. Building it was very enjoyable and the quality is outstanding. Took it to the track and it was awesome. The best car to drive by far.