Reviews for Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof) [TRA3355X]

Displaying reviews 1 to 14 of 14
Result Pages: 1
RICHARD JOHNSTON
Sunday, Mar 13 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
i have owned a Platinum Slash for about six months. During this time I have gone through 4 ESC's. When I purchased the truck the warranty was much longer than the new thirty day policy. I run my cars twice a week at a track and take care of my stuff. I run 2s only and use stock gearing. One problem with this ESC is that the button breaks and the vehicle cannot be reprogrammed. This has happened to many, yet there is just a thirty day warranty now. Hmmm.. The Castle SCT 3800KV system has a better warranty and is a better race system for 2s racing. The latter system is also less expensive than the Traxxas system.. For those of us that want a 2s System, it's a no brainer...
greg rinebold
Sunday, Mar 13 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
I have owned a slash 4x4 for about 4 months. When It was new I ran it through wet grass and cooked both the esc and motor! WATERPROOF?? It was still under warranty then so it was replaced. Since then I have switched to lipo batteries and it only lasts about 15min before it overheats. This is in 40 degree weather and cooling fans on both the esc and motor. I think this system is a waste of time and money. I would advise anyone to upgrade to the mamba monster. or better yet go right for the sc8e. Shame on you Traxxas!
devon masters
Sunday, Mar 13 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
well im not very impressed..i have blown through two of them so far.-stars from this slash 4x4 owner!!!had to put down a star for u to view my opinon
james schneider
Saturday, Mar 12 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
Call traxxas up, they will send you a new one unless you modified the plug. If it over heats on the lipo, buy the cooling fan ( part # TRA3340)
cpear760
Monday, Mar 31 2014 (about 2 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
I guess I'm one of the lucky ones. I bought mine with a "2010 Platinum Slash 4x4" - September 2011. No real problems until now: This month - the two times I've gotten out to the track lately - it keeps lipo'ing on me. I tried to switch it to Nimh mode, then back. At first it would tone down (Nimh mode), and tone up (Lipo), but not change from green(lipo) to red(nimh). Finally it would change modes. I had my friend use the same battery that had just lipo'd with my Traxxas, on his Novak-powered SCT-22 and he ran several laps with it. I have a spare VXL-3s and will switch to that for now. I've always run stock, 2S, and hardly changed the gearing.
gophop
Sunday, Apr 28 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
DO NOT BUY! || Pros: - Simple to setup and link - Waterproof - Traxxas support || Cons: - Button breaks/gets stuck - Runs hot on 2s and goes to thermal shutdown. Fan is a must - Mine went out with a smoke show on the 3rd battery pack - Traxxas support (took 3 weeks to get a replacement from them)
joey murphy
Saturday, Mar 2 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
I love this esc but iv gone through 2 of them, DO NOT USE 3S WITH THIS SYSTEM IT WILL BLOW UP.
Derek Cerulli
Saturday, Jan 12 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
This esc is crap I had the vxl system for about 6 months now and when I plug in the battery and press the button the esc will not turn on at all I suggest the castle sidewinder sv3 which is waterproof that is way cheaper than the vxl combo
Marc Perales
Tuesday, Apr 10 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
Open letter to anyone reading these reviews: Do you wonder why these things are on backorder so regularly? Lots of demand. Lots of need to replace. Lots of smoke coming out of wires. Just sayin'.....
Logan Scarry
Tuesday, Apr 3 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
GREAT POWER! HOWEVER, this thing is not water proof. around the button water seeps in. if you lossen the button you void warranty and risk no more waterproofing. If you tighten the spacing between the button and the waterproof material it sticks. I am going to every one this. ITS NOT WATERPROOF! Keep this thing clean and you may save your self some slack but this thing is a pain in the rear end. You can fix the a sticking button by drilling a hole near it to rench it back up but that also voids warranty for modification. Very dissipointed in this product and will never buy it again!
justin
Thursday, Mar 10 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
The one that came with my truck (slash 4x4) lasted a month and a half. Just long enough to be out of warranty (30 days). They over heat on 3 cell lipos. For the same price there are better ones with built in cooling, fully programmable and made for up to 6 cell lipos. I gave it 2 stars because it may be waterproof but some would argue. Otherwise its zero stars for the price when you look at its competition.
Devon
Saturday, Jan 12 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
i have the vxl3s system in my slash a 2wd may be a bit much power but....go big or go home. with a 2s pack plenty of power i use 3s while the motor dose get slightly over 150 if you just watch the temps youll be fine esc dosent get all that hot i just have the traxxas fan with keeps it good. programing is soooooo easy i cannot stress that enought it is press and go if you cant program this.....you shouldent be reading this either. Im happy with this product and looking into anouther one for my rustler soon to be "vxl". note: i am a very notable source have been in the hooby for a while seen a good handful of waterproof systems and this one is by far my favorite.
john paulson
Friday, Mar 16 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
this is a great system!!!!!!!! i never broke one and ive had it for over 2 years
Parker Wright
Thursday, Apr 7 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas VXL-3S Brushless Electronic Speed Control (Waterproof)
would it burn out if i put in my merv? the vxl 3m burns out a lot i was wondering if i put it in my merv if it would stay cool enough on 2s or 3s mini lipos?