Reviews for Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi [TRA6807]

Displaying reviews 1 to 11 of 11
Result Pages: 1
BRIAN BRENNER
Monday, May 24 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
I have the Slash 4x4 Brushless RTR, unfortunately thanks to a less than controlled RC smacked into the front of mine at full speed and broke my front A-arm at the end of day one. Prior to that, I have to say, this thing is AWESOME. They are not exaggerating about the speed with the LIPO. Gunning it off the line on pavement will boil all 4 tires and take it all the way to top speed with impressive stability. I have ordered all GH Racing Aluminum suspension parts offered and I am already over the asking price for this setup. If you are planning on upgrading the truck, you will spend this much anyhow, plus this one gets a bit better battery than the RTR. Charger sucks, dont bother with it unless you enjoy waiting 8 hours per charge. I will also mention that this thing will take a beating like nothing I have ever owned. Prior to my front tire getting smashed into by a Stampede at full speed, I was in awe. I love it, and I wish this one was out when I bought mine. Good buy in my opinion, you wont be disappointed. Good job once again Traxxas!
Robert_K
Verified Owner
Saturday, Feb 5 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
4.5 Stars! I received my Slash Ultimate two days ago. First and foremost this is my first R/C car and mainly purchased it for bashing. Out of the box I think it's a great car. Designed well and quick. I added the RPM front & rear bumpers and rear mudflaps. I also got the Traxxas cooling fan to help with high temps. The factory battery is meh. 12 hour wait time for 30ish minutes of play sucks. So I recommend investing in a good charger and some extra batteries. I would also recommend getting the Outerwears shroud to protect the the chassis. A fair amount of dirt/sand/small gravel finds it way inside. I also notice that the wheels are chipped from some minor rocks and blew the foam out on one (quick fix). So I would look into getting a better set of wheels. I did purchase the Dialed Inc Short Course Truck Carrying Bag and recommend it. The car & receiver fits perfectly in the bag and you have a little bit of extra room for small tools and/or batteries. Hope this helps!
Jay karma
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Jan 26 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
love it!!! have alot of fun bashing it, bashing is what i think its made for its not really a good racer but it can take a beating it is fast out of the box and you have everything you need to drive it but the charger does suck so look in to getting a better one
Jonathan Ewton
Verified Owner
Sunday, Sep 19 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
I love this truck. The set up out of the box is very good. So far all I've done was very slight shock tuning to suit my driving conditions. The only thing bad I can say is the included charger is very slow (14 hours or more on a completely drained pack) so do yourself a favor and get a better charger if you don't already have one. This is by far the best truck I've purchased. For me, it's well worth the extra money to have everything assembled and set up right out of the box, as well as the upgraded parts. I'm completely happy with this truck and highly recommend it.
Jeff B.
Verified Owner
Monday, Aug 23 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
thing is a bullet, and damn near indestructible. stock the only issue i had was top screws on the shocks pulling out of the towers, so i upgraded to aluminum right away. also, the aluminum motor mount is a big plus, with the center diff in running hard laps will likely cause you to destroy the bearing in the housing. a friend shredded a bearing with the plastic motor mount and enlarged the hole almost twice its diameter with a 3s lipo. 2s lipos are more than enough on the track with this truck, it keeps up and passes almost everything on the track, and runs good temps with most of the stock components.
Danny Wauchope
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Nov 13 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
Agree. This thing is awesome. Fast, reliable given any treatment, readily available parts at reasonable prices. Have run my ultimate together with my mates vxl, both awesome. Highly recommend it
clinton
Saturday, Mar 31 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
I've owned this RC for two weeks now and have spent perhaps 6 hours of run time with it. So far it has been on the track, in sand, leaves, gravel, dirt, tarmac and grass. Overall, this thing is AWESOME. PROS Strength. At this point, nothing has broken, which is incredible in itself given some of the high speed crashes it has had. Speed. Plug in a 3S LiPo and hold on tight. With 3S power you will need to master the art of careful throttle control! Switch out the gearing (for increased top speed) and the only thing I wonder is, how the hell can something so small go so fast!? Handling. With the center diff installed, the handling feels very well balanced for every day fun. Take it to the track and you will need to tune things a lot (as with almost any truck). Yet out of the box, it is still fun at the track. Put the slipper back in, and you are probably going to crash more, but the fun only increases. Fun. Above all else, this thing is FUN!! CONS Generally speaking, I have no 'issues' with the truck. There are many areas where the chassis design/layout could be improved to afford easier accessibility and less wear and tear. 3S. Yep, usage of 3S is a con. Reason being, if you do not allow the motor to cool between high speed runs, you 'could' damage the unit. The lack of proper cooling in the design of the motor is the biggest weakness with this truck. SUMMARY This thing is FUN. Sure, it's going to break at some point (day one, or day 20), but replacing parts is relatively easy and inexpensive. It has tonnes more power than you realistically need and right of the box, it brings a smile to your face. Money well spent if you ask me!
todd long
Wednesday, Jul 27 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
bought 1 month with lipo 11.1s a rocket to say the least. Ran dirt ;grass; smashed it into curbes 40mph and havent broken it . Motor runs a little hot so i did some hopups to it like;the alum motor mount heat sink motor mount and motor mount itself. runs 75 degrees cooler. i got some #5576R street tires front and back lifted the body and have had a blast on the road!!! can also turn it into a 1/8 gt racer for little money . love it buy it no complaints .
Darren Gandy
Saturday, Nov 6 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
Adam Ripley. If you dont want the radio you buy the Platinum, and if you want a 4x4 SC then this is the best value for money in RTR. As for the electronics I have never had any premature failures in Traxxas gear, so perhaps any problems you may or may not have had might have just been YOU. With that novel you wrote the only thing you managed to get through to everybody, is that you dont know what you're talking about, you cant spell, and you wouldn't know what grammar was if it jumped up and bit you on the behind... Leave the reviews for the serious people, who actually know what they're talking about please..
J.
Thursday, Feb 3 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
My friend and I have jumped these off 20ft skateboard ramps, ran into a concrete wall going 40mph and havent had to replace any parts. Any one with a rating below 3 stars is just a hater. Dont be a hater. I broke the front diff case so bad that there was almost nothing procting the gears( if you realy want to know how bad, I could see 1/2 of the diff at a glance). What did I do, I ran it through sand, dirt, mud and any other surface I could find for 3 months. A close inspection of the gears revialed hardly a few scratches ( I had to squint to see them). I still use that gear set to this day. Even if it breaks, all the parts are between $1 - $15.
Frank Jia
Tuesday, Apr 6 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Traxxas Slash 4X4 "Ultimate" Brushless 1/10 Scale 4WD Short Course Truck (w/TQi
you know what, the $510 is actually a pretty good deal, BUT I would have liked it cheaper. traxxas 2.4 ghz - 110, thats 510 now with the platinum, and it also gives you a 7-cell and a painted body