Reviews for Team Orion Vortex R8 Pro 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC (180A, 2-6S) [ORI65105]

Displaying reviews 1 to 6 of 6
Result Pages: 1
So Cal 1/8 Electric Racer
Monday, Apr 30 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Orion Vortex R8 Pro 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC (180A, 2-6S)
We have been using the 1/10 scale Orion ESC and love it (really smooth, and temps are very low after a full 4s battery pack), so we wanted to try this 1/8 scale ESC. The first day we used it (indoor racing on clay), we were amazed by how smooth this R8 was, and that the temps were around 150 degrees after running thru a number of 10 minute runs with 4s battery packs. A couple of fan blades broke on the second day using this ESC (indoor racing on clay), and the fan quit working all together. Temps went from 150 degrees (when fan was working) up to 190 degrees (based on about 7 minutes of runtime using a 4s battery pack). Cannot find a replacement fan ANYWHERE, and even if I could, I don't see any way to get at the broken fan (case does not seem to be removable). If this is true, then it sure is a bad design. Waiting for a reply from Horizon Hobbies (tech support for Orion on this ESC), and will update this review when/if I hear anything back from them. Update: Never received the promised callback from Horizon Hobby about my issue with the fan.
Adam C
Wednesday, Sep 26 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Orion Vortex R8 Pro 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC (180A, 2-6S)
Not very happy with this ESC, used it twice at the track on 4s and the fan broke almost all the fins off, its very hard to replace , Then it stoped all together and warrenty said "i got dirt inside it and the motor so they cant and will not help me" , its an off road ESC for buggys ffs obviusly thers going to be dirt everywhere, did they want me to drive it in bubble wrap?. and for this i hate team orion, yea its fast with ther motors but for how long , dont get me started on the motors, i am now running a tekin rx8 ESC, im never buying over priced hobbywing (team Orion ) gear again.
Bill Dudley
Saturday, Jun 29 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Team Orion Vortex R8 Pro 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC (180A, 2-6S)
I just bought the Orion esc r8 pro a little disappointed in performance glitching When punching the throttle It hesitate" When I approach the jump and punch it to make the jump It just doesn't deliver the power to make the jump I'm running it in a team associated SC 10 4 x 4 with a vortex four pole motor and a savox 1250t Servo Please help
Steven Carter
Tuesday, Apr 2 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Team Orion Vortex R8 Pro 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC (180A, 2-6S)
Was extremely dissapointed as others have been when I found out how weak the BEC is on this ESC!!! I also cannot run a 1/10 scale 4 pole motor and a savox servo without this esc browning out!!! It has only a 3amp bec... That is on par with other 1/10 speedcontrols! WEAK!! My tekin rx8 has a 5 amp bec and never glitches. LRP 1/8 esc has a 6 amp bec!!! I am now forced to run an external BEC, seperate reciever pack, or a combo of weaker motor and servo !! What a waste of time!!! DONT BUY THIS ESC!!!!! Get the LRP OR TEKIN!!!!
Robot Racer
Wednesday, May 2 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Orion Vortex R8 Pro 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC (180A, 2-6S)
I've been using R8 for 2 months in my RC8.2e along with an Orion Motor... it's lightning fast and lays the power down exactly where I need it. Unlike the other reviewers, I have had no problems whatsoever. I also have the R10 in my B4.1... and it holds the fast lap record at my local track.
Johnathan Hastings
Verified Owner
Sunday, Apr 1 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Orion Vortex R8 Pro 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC (180A, 2-6S)
Not a good ESC for the 4 pole motors with a 2s baterry. I had to purchase an aftermarket BEC to make this ESC work in my SCTE. Very dissapointed with that factor.