Reviews for Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit [TDR102002]

Displaying reviews 1 to 20 of 20
Result Pages: 1
Joseph papa
Saturday, Dec 11 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Just finished my build and I have to say, this car is so amazing. Fit and finish is like an F-16 fighter. They really re-invented the 8th scale buggy in so many was. The braking system and center diff mount is a radical departure and the finest I have ever seen. I don't know how they came up with it. Also, as and owner of the DEX410 Durango, I can also see where they improved things here as the diff case is "keyed" and interlocks with the bulkhead, making it impossible for it to rotate, where as the Dex410 has these plastic posts that hold the center driveshafts... clearly the dnx408 keyed method is far superior. There is no play anywhere yet nothing needed to be reamed or sanded. Engine mount is amazing and actually interlocks with chassis, making it impossible for the engine twist so that gears always engage straight. Nice little pointer on chassis with markings to make it fast to re-mesh gears after engine removal. The shocks on this car are gorgeous and silky smooth. Lots of travel. Pistons were "flash free" from the molding process. Chassis and shock towers are the thickest and stiffest on the planet. Chassis is so narrow, I wondered how things would fit. You couldn't bend this chassis if you hit a house. Aluminum adjustable kickup / toe /antisquat front and rear included! Servo mounting design is another first. Nicest and most rigid setup in the world. Easy to see why car is so balanced. CVD design is great. Rubber dust covers will stay in place due to machined in ridge. Cons. Be careful building it! Easy to overlook simple details as you go. I had to disassemble a few parts. Diff outdrives look the same but they aren't, some are longer,some have a ridge for the brakes. Screws are all similar lengths and easy to mix up. Directions are not very clear. Everything goes by part numbers and not every part in each step has a scale photo to match up to. There is also no page with a photo of all the parts to reference. So take your time. Bottom line. This is the car to beat, the car to own and the parts are cheap!! Get one. You wont be disappointed!
Merdith Roach
Monday, Sep 26 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
I finally got a chance to drive this buggy after building it some time ago. It was a pleasure to build, although it requires some slight changes and is not easy by any means..... I had to put the alluminum throttle arm on it with 4 shims between the calipers to get the brakes to work. Not a big deal, but not good either. I will say the brakes work better with the alluminum arm than any other car I've driven... that brings up my next point. this buggy freakin turns, and powers through the turns with authority. I can slide sideways going into a turn and power through it way earlier than other buggies. I can pass other cars on the inside se easily with this car. The stock springs are too stiff so I changed to orange up front, and might need red "stiffer" ones but for now I'll try the orange up front....The stock front springs were stiff and shorter than the optional springs, kinda weird.....I had nothing to compare the stock springs too so it was difficult to get it right. the rear springs were way too stiff so I had to put some green rear springs on it. With the stock rear springs the buggy had way too little traction and kicked up the rear. go ahead an order the spring kits. they are really inexpensive and will let you dial it in way faster.... I ended up moving the rear hubs forward to get more weight over the rear tires because like I said this buggy has serious turning ability. I can understand how a beginner or intermediate driver would get frustrated with this car, but if you take the time to set it up properly THIS WILL BE THE FASTEST BUGGY period.... Shims, I found a post from a smart guy that said to cut a section out of a medium diff shim and put it behind the outside bearing where the pinion gear goes, this will take up the slop in the pinion assembly. Should have come with the exact shim in the kit to fix this...but oh well it's fine now. I posted a question on their website about the pinion issue with no response.....Oh well.... I can say though after all the weird issues with this buggy it is well worth the trouble when you get it on a track and drive past other racers. The clutch bell flywheel and shoes are very well made, although put some 1.0 kyosho or mugen springs on it. the stock ones are way too stiff and you will burn up the clutch if you don't.... and pay attention to what screws go where as there are lots of similar sizes and some are even too short, so make sure and get a nice assortment of screws for the car....and some blue threadlock to use on smaller screws instead of the really nice gooey red stuff that works well on the larger screws.. A good example is the lower diff mount. the tiny screws are too short to hold every thread and going up just 2mm will help them hold on better. also the wing mount screws are a little short, put longer screws into the plastic to hold on better during crashes, the ones that go in from the sides... the center diff moves front to back too far, I put a shim on the gear side in between the bearing and the spur gear, that takes up the slop, but make sure it's not too thick or it will bind...It took a couple teardowns to get this perfect..... A mugen nova header fits this car perfect, some are too big and wont fit so be careful when ordering a header.... Most important: Cut some short pieces of fuel tubing to go on the upper shock mounts and carefully slide the caps over it. the small plastic balls that go there are terrible and will get sloppy in one dayof racing. Save time and money using fuel tubing. It will save those pretty shock caps... Make no mistake even though this buggy has been a challenge for me when it's out on the track it's ready for the attack. I have not been able to set up any other buggy to be as fast as this one was on it's second outing.....Even with the bad stock springs.....If you take your time setting up this car it will perform way beyond your expectations.......
travis barona
Tuesday, Dec 28 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
this buggy is revolutionary. period. advanced. sometimes when comparing 1/8 buggs you can easily get lost in the simalaritys. blah blah blah. nothing is really all that much differant from the next other than some tweaks here and there. this buggy is the truth. this buggy is just plain smart! notice some things that i think are really cool. the top plate is also the front chassis brace!, comes stock with cnc'd memory engine mount, it has eaqual length center drives! the diffs litteraly take 10minutes to get out and lock into place.the brake system is friggin awesome.lightened cups and center gear! common man. EVERYWHERE METAL SHOULD BE -IS!. i love the placment of the rear wing. i could go on and on. its expensive but if you have it spend it. if it were between the 3 expensive buggs either the super overpriced x-gay or mp9 or 8 this should be your way. building it was awesome. i cant say enough about it. ive had the x-gay 2 8's a hyper 9 a x2 and a mp5 and although i really liked my losi this is the shit. the best way i can sum it up is its like when i got my 8 2.0 i spent probably 700 on hop ups where this buggy already has it included in the inital price. I CANT WAIT FOR THE TRUGGY!!! ITS ON ITS WAY
Brandon Steinle
Friday, Dec 10 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
I just built this kit and Kudos to Team Durango for a job well done! This kit was an absolute pleasure to build. Everything fit perfectly and the quality is top notch. The design is well thought out. If you hated servicing your diffs you'll love how the Durango has designed theirs to be removed from the car without removing any unnecessary parts. It takes less than 10 minutes to remove all the diffs from the car and re-assembly is just as easy! The center diff is a work of art. The brake design is good, you will need to shim the outer brake pads in for the pads to actually hit the disc. It doesn't specify that in the manual but you will see what i mean. Everything about the car is refreshing and innovative. The price of the car is well worth it! I believe you get what you pay for and it rings true in this case. Can't wait to run the Durango.... stay tuned...
Pedro Carvallo
Wednesday, Jan 23 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
This version is very good is better than its predecessor, is more stable and easy to set track, which included the upgrade are helpful although psyche have the problem of overheating throttle servo, this problem is solved by making some simple modifications, is also the issue of weight distibution, do better by placing the battery to one side of the servo direction, for this reason it is necessary to reposition and place standing, unless such changes are already in the prototype that uses Ryan Lutz is an excellent machine I recommend it, the parts are of high quality and good aerodynamics.
Steven ford
Friday, Jan 18 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Great competition buggy. team durango have hit the nail on the head with this one. always a plesure to drive and turns like no other buggy I have driven.
Matthew Page
Monday, Jan 14 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Well I'm reporting back from my first review. I had one of the V1 kits when they were first released. I never had any major trouble from it at all. The receiver box was a PIA but other than that it was good to me. I have since sold that kit and this week I picked up two of the new v2 kits. I am converting one to electric and leaving the other one as nitro. I can't wait to get them up and running! I will report back with more info once I get the V2 ones in hand.
Dean Wells
Verified Owner
Friday, May 18 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
This is my third one. Team Durango did their homework and put out an awesome kit.with the right motor its awesome. The Plastics on my first 2 seem a little soft but for this one they must of change it because it more solid and much less flexable. The only downfall I had with this latest kit was it was missing a couple parts bags. But A Main took care of it even though I think Durango should have. A Main stands behind what they sell and their costomers. Amen to A Main.
Franz Alsleben
Wednesday, Mar 14 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Hola, alguien sabe el peso de este carro, estoy por comprarlo y quisiera saber el peso. Hi is anyone nows the car weigth ?
Joshua Peters
Verified Owner
Friday, Mar 9 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Awesone high quality and builds very well compared to other vehicles out there plastic does feel a little soft but other then that its all good
Jaime Enrique Cruz Martinez
Verified Owner
Thursday, Mar 8 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Excelente! totalmente recomendado, facil de ensamblar, es muy innovador en su diseño, al armarlo se puede apreciar que tanto sus componentes como su configuracion es bastante estudiada, aunque como todo tiene sus fallas, se corrigen facilmente! sobre todo cambiar el tanque de combustible, hacerlo de primero es lo recomendado! DNX408 es el modelo mas envidiado de todos! Genera amores y odios!
Janne Simola
Wednesday, Jul 20 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Love the car. Very durable and nice to drive. Beauty. Love the easiness of diff maintenance. Love this twice as much my Losi 2.0
Matthew Page
Wednesday, Jun 1 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
So far so good. First impressions are good. Car drives very well and seems to have a ton of turn in and great rear traction. Drives better than my old losi 1.0 buggy. Haven't ran my new losi 2.0 buggy yet to compare it to that. Once I get more runtime on the Durango I will report back.
CARLOS Gutierrez
Monday, May 23 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Build this buggy is a pleasure, all the components are top quality and fit perfectly, but to make mechanical or maintenance is complicated, all it promises T. durango with respect to disassemble parts quickly, is very relative or im say that false because removing a component as the radio tray, that only 3 screws hold it, but to remove you must first remove the diff. central and engine carburetor because you allow it, and so the diff, you have to remove other components to remove. This upset me a little, as he was accustomed to the mechanics of Losi and Mugen, which are very simple and enjoyable to do, so if I can stress components are unparalleled, innovative design and high performance on the track.
Bill
Verified Owner
Sunday, Feb 13 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Well I did the build, the car (Durango) is great.. This is my second build and like the last review this kit is like a F-16 fighter jet.. The one issue I do see with the plastics are they feel fragile.. Maybe they will upgrade this in the future( who knows..)) Spare parts are cheap that is a plusssssss...... I am running a clockwork B6 modded engine 2058 pipe...
Ian
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Feb 28 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
to many crappy mods to do, but it is strong, parts are hard to get at the moment, shock springs are hopeless, wouldn't bother with a second one. took on a xray 808 '11, far better built and stronger by a long shot. even at $AUD300.00 for a DNX408 kit here (Ozz)they can't move them. Not happy with it at all. Might have another look when V3 comes out.
Travis szwedko
Tuesday, May 1 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Got this piece of crap from the LHS since the Mugen was back ordered. Worst car in 20 years of rc. Maybe it's my taste but I hate it. It's a good looking car but thats it. Aluminum everywhere but the one spot that needs it. The throttle bell crank. I have two starter boxes and neither wheels will fit the tiny slot enough to reach the minuscule fly wheel. I cant off this piece fast enough.
DNX 408 future owner
Friday, Sep 3 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
This wont be available till late Nov. - dec. by HRP. too long of a waiit!!! :(
Dainis Bairs
Tuesday, Aug 9 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
This is peace of s..t :(... I decided to get free of that peace of s..t after one day of practice. It isn't compareable with Mugen and Losi. Everything is wrong and not prepared for off-road competition condition. You could check Savoya performace after switchin to this P.O.S.
Joseph Mercado
Sunday, Oct 3 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Team Durango DNX408 "V2" 1/8 Competition Nitro Buggy Kit
Where is the electric 1/8th scale Durango. That's the one I'm extreemly interested in. Team Durango built a Ground Up- purpose built electric 1/8th scale and it's like nothing I've ever seen. With electric now much more popular than nitro- recent studies indicate- wonder why Durango plans to release the nitro version first. Great work team Durango. I think this buggy and the Hyper 9E are two great 1/8the scale buggies.