Reviews for Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts! [TDR102009]

Displaying reviews 1 to 10 of 10
Result Pages: 1
Jennifer Barker
Wednesday, Feb 12 2014 (about 2 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
It's rare I write a long negative review but it's rare for a high end kit like this one to fail so completly. The instructions are nearly worthless, there's almost no text and the pictures are so dark that reading them required a flashlight. Assembly requires opening several bags at once scattering parts all over your work bench. There's no explination of what the myriad of suspension settings are for or even bother to give you a baseline setting to start from. On that note there's no gearing recommendation for your motor choice but there is a gear chart on durango's website problem is the pinion gear it recommends for my 17.5 motor (30 tooth) WON'T FIT with the included spur gear so you get to buy another spur gear too. Sure it has lots of different ways to position the motor but be ready to disassemble the ENTIRE rear end and transmission to do it. The cvd shafts are to short (96 mm) and will pop out under high power and full droop, durango knows this and will send you longer ones (97 mm) if you call and complain rather then just put them in the box. The front wheels wouldn't spin free but i found out you can fix it if, you guessed it, buy more parts (bearing spacers and shims) rather then just put them in the box, this is yet another known issue durango didn't bother to fix. The wheel hexes are larger than any other sct so good luck finding wheels that work at your lhs. I should have purchased a Losi or Associated. Yes it's a great price but avoid it and avoid the mistake I made!
ralph sargent
Thursday, Sep 12 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
i had one for 8 weeks and been in rc racing for 4 years at the same track i bought this truck to try it but within 2weeks i went through 2 chassi 2 sets of rear a arms and 3 ball diffs but the truck was awsome in the coners and out of the hole but i got ride of it do to the fact that it was a money pit
WhiteJoe
Tuesday, May 28 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
Good kit, super strong, instructions are decent, durable kit.
solid truck
Saturday, May 4 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
great truck. have not broke a single thing. very tunable. also own associated sc10 rs.have broke plenty of parts on that. very comparale trucks i like them both . DURANGO is more durable.
Chris Mann
Verified Owner
Monday, Feb 17 2014 (about 2 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
I can't agree more with Jennifer this has the worst kit manual I have ever come across, please take note of how Associated and Tamiya for example write their manuals. I own the RTR and now the kit version. The RTR broke the troublesome rear suspension hanger within minutes and required the purchase of the alloy upgrade and as Jennifer mentioned the spacers to stop the front wheels from binding. Type A chassis has already begun cracking around the transmission/rear bumper mount. As I live in Australia I cannot obtain the excellent customer service from HobbyCo and transfered to Europe with my request for a Type B chassis and hangers, that was weeks ago and I had no response. Overall this car is very good once set up with the right optional parts but one should not have to buy parts to stop the front wheels binding, second guess where ball studs are mounted and the manual appears to be an afterthought. I just bought my kit and it still comes with the 96mm shafts oh joy!
russell platt
Friday, Nov 22 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
If you haven't broke anything it must sit on the shelf, LOL! These are thoroughbreds that need a lot of love. No bashers here. The new frame that is included will help with durability issues. These are fun cars to drive.
Ryan Oleski
Sunday, Nov 3 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
I have had this truck for almost a year and only have broken 1 rear a arm and the rear-front & rear-rear a arm mounts. upgraded to the aluminum a arm mounts/kick up and toe block and had no problems since, its very durable as you can see, car is very balanced and amazing amount of tuning options and it allows you to really dial the car in.
Mr joe
Tuesday, Oct 22 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
Awesome truck , very tuneable, body is incredible . Just make sure you cut out all cutouts, great for bodyroll too ,tough and meant for racing.awesome upgrades.O:-) best body o.ut
Mclogo
Sunday, Oct 6 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
Fastest 2wd SC (modified)on our track, excellent rear traction and forward bite. As all Durango kits, it's built for racing and not bashing.
Alexander Schultz
Sunday, Dec 1 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Team Durango DESC210R 1/10 Scale Electric 2WD Short Course Truck Kit w/Type B Option Parts!
The Real Review. So heres the deal, the reviews on here are wishy washy. i have had this truck and the stadium truck for over 6 months now, and i love them to death. i have won a point series with each car at my local track. but that doesnt mean it doesnt have flaws. heres the pros and cons and the "myths" that are not true on the car. pros - tunability!!! adjustments are massive in this car and if you like to adjust things, this is the kit. big bore shocks right out of the box. affordable. cons - durability can be an issue. the only parts ive ever broken were the rear hangers. either get the aluminum ones, or type B parts. Shim the front. read up online how to shim the front to allow the bearings to not bind on the front wheels. drive shafts are too short unless you have the new diff with longer outdrives or the 97 mm drive shafts. Myths that are not true - "it takes forever to switch from rear to mid motor and have to disassemble everything" - right now, this is the fastest car kit ive had when switching from mid to rear or vise versa. the 22 kits take forever and you do have to take everything out. theres like 4 screws that hold the tranny down on the chassis, take those out and your already half done with the switch. "durability is so bad ive broken many parts" - ive only broken one part on this car is over 20 club races. that was the rear hanger. people who keep breaking chassis's and a arms, i have no idea what your doing, or how your driving. to conclude my review - I would recommend this kit to someone who has R/C experience. this kit isnt made for beginners, it has way to much options on it for that. Its also not a kit for those who are learning to drive. i did stat durability as a con, but only to those who crash alot or are new to driving. like i said, ive broken one part in 6 months. dont be afraid to buy this kit. if you want something your local track supports for parts, buy a car from them.