Reviews for Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!) [SPM3140]

Displaying reviews 1 to 20 of 28
Result Pages: 2
Terry Harrison
Tuesday, Jul 5 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
Ok, I have used spekrum radios for both cars and helicopters and have never had any type of radio equipment failure. The only malfunction I encountered was due to a poorly set up throttle linkage (totaly my fault) on my Kyosho USA ready set truggy. With that being said, I have been very pleased with the spektrum brand. Mybe you just got a bit unlucky and received a defective radio. Anyway, I hope that this expereince doesn't cause you to back away from the hobby. Best wishes
Pavmentsurfer
Verified Owner
Sunday, Sep 27 2009 (about 7 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
Ive been using this radio all summer now. Bought it from A-Main right at the beginning of the summer and installed the 2 receivers in my HPI Nitro RS43 EVO and my OFNA Ultra GTP2. I havent hooked up the telemetry yet but so far ive been extremely happy with the performance and ease of use of this radio. Binding was easy and neither of the receivers have lost bind once. All the features are super easy to use from the main menu and with the telemetry receiver I really like that it shows me the battery status of the receiver battery. I doubt ill use the RPM Sensor but I know ill use the temp sensor when I get a new motor for my GTP2. I agree that this radio has a bit of a flimsy feel to it. But I think that could partially be because its so light. It only needs 4 batteries and I havent replaced them all summer. The scroll wheel does not feel as sturdy as id like but it hasent given me any trouble yet. I have big hands and the rubber grip thats installed when you get the radio fits me perfectly. I havent tried the bigger one thats included yet and I dont think I will. I wish I could change the extra thumb button (currently set to start and stop the timer) to something else as im always accidentally starting the timer. But thats a pretty small gripe. I also wish there was a spot to store the bind plug on the radio. It seems like it could be really easy to loose and small trap door or a male plug on the radio would give you a place to keep it when your not using it. Other than these few things I have to say im extremely happy with this radio and when you take into consideration the price... with 2 receivers... its just a great deal.
FAISAL AHMAD
Tuesday, Mar 12 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
It was nice at first with all its features. But I've been having problems with the range. never had range problems even with the sucky types of radio controllers. But I was surprised with this one. The range is my only problem. Other than that, it's just great.
Hampton
Verified Owner
Saturday, Dec 29 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
This is a great controller, but my steering spring broke with only 10 hours and 7 minutes of use. Not to happy about that considering that I used my old traxxas controllers a lot longer and they never broke.
Jonathan Hranicka
Saturday, Mar 31 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
Truly happy with my spectrum radio dont know what any of you fools are talking about when it comes to range and durability I have dropped this radio 6 feet off of a drivers stand and not broken it and driven my buggy till I could hardly see it would recommend this radio to anyone looking to upgrade
bryce ellis
Tuesday, Jan 18 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
ive owned this controller for about a year now and i love it. its saved me alot of money since its my first 2.4 ghz i used the stock reciever and controller which are rediculous but not interferance and the only problem ive ever had was what appears to be a broken spring in the throttle trigger(doesnt return to neutral) im not mad or anything.
Alvis Gineika
Sunday, Jan 9 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
the radio is good, light, comfortable, has ok features, but if it was made with better plastics and finish would be great, I just had a problem with the plastic tip that holds the spring of the wheel, apart of that nothing works fine, heard some that had problems, that where easy to solve, but if is with this price ought to be a better finished and better plastics
Mark Thomas
Verified Owner
Friday, Feb 27 2009 (about 7 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
My internal timer shows 35 hours now, and I'm on just my 3rd set of 4AA's. I haven't had a single problem other than the sensors being a little short for the cars I tried using them in. I don't really like a lot of extra wires in my cars, so I took the temp sensor out. I've never even opened the RPM sensor that it came with. Overall it's been a great radio, I've used in 1/8th scale offroad and 1/10th electric cars and have never had a glitch. The 2nd RX is a great bonus. -//- Just recieved it a few days ago, looks pretty good so far. I'm being very careful with the scroll wheel because of some things I've heard. I went from using an 8 year old Futaba radio to this one. I can't wait for the first race to see how it does for some racing. The telemetry is cool but I will probably only use it to monitor rx pack voltage, I'm setting up the temp sensor but I think it might end up being a little short
David Watson
Verified Owner
Monday, Apr 1 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
Good radio, but the Sr3300T rx that came with it was a piece of junk! I use all SR300's and orange Rx's from Hobbyking.
matt barry
Monday, Mar 18 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
Do online research and call some tracks before purchasing Spektrum. Most tracks do not sell them and will tell you how terrible they are. They are known for interference, spontaneous unbinding and throttle spring breaking. They look cool but thatís about all. I had one and bought one for my 8 yr old son. We started going to tracks and found once our car was on the far side of the track we would have intermittent reception failure. I did research and found this to be very common. I sold mine and bought two Airtronics MX-V. These controllers work great, no interference and cost less than the DX3S. Airtronics receivers cost more though they work. Read about DSM and DSM2. The DX3S is a DSM controller compatible with DSM and DSM2 receivers. It will bind to a DSM2 receiver though only as DSM. This is severely outdated technology. We kept my sons since he had used the transmitter so AMain nor Horizon Hobbies would refund him. He has several Losi micros and the transmitter works fine alone. The interference is only an issue when being used around several other transmitters. This is not an issue for Airtronics, Futaba or KO Propo, only Spektrum and maybe some lower quality manufacturers.
Shane Schultz
Verified Owner
Friday, May 25 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
I bought this radio system because of the telemetry feature. Only care about the temp. It works fine but the range of the telemetry is a little short. I have to agree with other about the feel of it. Needs more tension on the springs both trigger and wheel, but over all its a good bang for the buck.
Sam Beatty
Saturday, Mar 17 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
I love my radio....It has almost all of the same features as the DX3R and really comes at a convenient price. I have dropped mine many times and has yet to crack or break. Solid built radio with good features.
Greg Costa
Thursday, Sep 22 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
Ok Look! I have had one of these for about 2 years now. My friend and I bought ours at the same time. (Not from here might i add, sorry Amain) these are the issues i have with these units: 1: Telemetry wires should be just a little bit longer, prob 30mm would be good. 2: RPM sensor wire connections to the circuit board are pretty weak. More so if you are constantly taking your car apart to clean or do repairs. The more they get moved the more chance they just snap off. Again probably because they not as long as I would like. 3: My friend had one small issue where he one day turned is unit and car on and there was nothing there. No throttle but had Steering. On doing a process of elimination to see if it was the servo, radio or reciever he worked out it was the radio. Upon opening up the radio and inspecting he noticed that accellerator trim cap needed a clean, might have had some condensation which reduced the amount of current. All fixed and since had no problems. Apart from those issues these units are great. This is my first 2.4ghz unit and we both love them. I highly reccommend them to anyone who is looking for an upgrade for there RTR or FM unit. Love the telemetry feature...ok..ok they might not be that accurate but it give you an indication.
Marian Miller
Tuesday, Jul 5 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
Sounds like people get frustrated when this radio doesn't program itself and start pressing the "PLASTIC" button with retard strength & then cry when it breaks . I've had 2 of these for almost 3 1/2 years without an issue , maybe you guys should learn some patience . By the way "J" your an idiot .
mark l.
Sunday, May 15 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
this radio is awesome. its great for the every day racer, and great for the every day basher. i use it just to bash, and its nice to have all the adjustments available to you, and the screen is nice too. i like the telemetry that it offers, i only use the temp setting on my b4.1 and its very convenient. great radio, spektrum did it again.
derek chaplin
Monday, Sep 13 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
I love this radio. It is easy to use and works great. Mine is about a year old and I would buy another one again. The only telemetry that I use is the temp part because I have had problems in the past with my Mamba Monster running hot. This setup is consitently within 5 degrees of what my temp gun reads. The best part is that it errors on the hot side not the cold side. So if the radio reads 165 I know its about 160. For what it is, I would call that pretty darn accurate. I love this setup and am really glad that I upgraded to it from a DX3.0. Hope this helps anyone looking at potentially buying it. I love mine!
Greg Bruckler
Tuesday, May 11 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
it feel like a toy radio b/c there's only 4 batteries its supposed to be light so its not like your holding a brick in your hand for 5 to 25 minutes. The antenna is a little weak be care full dropping it the electronic can take it but the antenna can't. Other then that i have no problems with mine.
Sergey Slavin
Wednesday, Apr 7 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
I'm using this system almost 6 months. Today temperature sensor showed 200C in the engine... it's still OK & running well! (HPI NitroStar .21) Few days ago it showed 130C and infrared thermometer in same time was near 100C. So maybe it is fair only for my system, but temperature which it shows seems to be much higher than it is. It's not bad at all, but is unacceptable at final engine tuning. I have nothing to say about other functions, all works well. My buggy ran from me at more than 100 meters and got back itself. No more distance need for 1/8 scale car.
Josh Hardwick
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jan 3 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
ive got this its the best radio ive ever had no range problems no scroller brakes (i no y thats happening .... U R PUSHING 2 HARD) Love what comes with it its amazing lcd screen is fine never unbinded itself really its opposite to what other people are saying im just saying on my behalf its the best radio ive ever had... ive had... airotronics m11 futaba 3pk spektrum dx3.0 spektrum dx3s airotronics mx sport the best ones ive had are the.... SPEKTRUM'S I dont know y people are rating it like 1-3 out of five thats rediculas and they could of sent it back for a couple bucks.. ok thanks anyway, Josh 5* out of 5*
Luke O'Hara
Thursday, Sep 3 2009 (about 7 years ago)
Spektrum RC DX3S DSM 3CH Surface Radio w/Telemetry (w/FREE SR301 Receiver!)
The best value radio in R/C. Super easy to use, very feature laden, very competitive price and 2.4ghz peace of mind. Can't beat this one.