Reviews for ProTek RC "Super Pro 2000" Four Output World Edition Power Supply (30V/80A/2000W) [PTK-PRO-2000W-SP]

Displaying reviews 1 to 6 of 6
Result Pages: 1
Tomas Sodergren
Verified Owner
Monday, Dec 12 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Super Pro 2000" Four Output World Edition Power Supply (30V/80A/2000W)
I use large battery packs for my Aerial Photo helicopter. 10S 5000mAh LiPo´s. And I have good chargers, the Hyperion Duo series. Tree of them. I was looking forward to being able to supply all three of them from this supply, for simultaneous charging three of these packs. Well, it does not work. Not because this supply cannot deliver the power, but because it´s voltage regulation performance is too poor. See, the chargers pause the charging process a few seconds every minute to measure the status of the pack, and then again it takes up the charging. This load fluctuation is too much for the supply, its output voltage changes so much that the chargers protests and abort the charging. Tried it many times. Always same result :( I also used the suppy to simulate a 4S LiPo battery to power a quadrokopter. I adjusted the output voltage to 14.8 volt. When the load current peaked like 30A the output voltage was down to 14.0 volt. That is not so impressive. I expected it to hold within 0.1 or 0.2 volt. Finally, I opened the case of the supply to see if there was any obvious ways to make it perform better. The build quality was NOT impressing and under one of the power cirquit boards I even found a screw that had got stuck into the soldering prints, just waiting to cause a disastre! (I have photo). That screw had probably been around on somebodys messy work bench, and then somebody put the circuit board on top of it, and then the screw sticked to the underside of the board. Indicates bad quality control. Sorry, I really hoped this supply would be fantastic.
scott freeman
Verified Owner
Monday, Jun 25 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Super Pro 2000" Four Output World Edition Power Supply (30V/80A/2000W)
quality control missed this one...broken circuit board...over tighten screw stripped out the plastic...voltmeter out by 2 volts...terminals loose...noisy fans...i fixed it all up and charged up my battery's, its was pulling 40 amps and did not lose a beat...I am satisfied with it now, what a shame quality control missed this one
Andrew Dewoody
Verified Owner
Friday, May 25 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Super Pro 2000" Four Output World Edition Power Supply (30V/80A/2000W)
I have the ProTek "Super Pro 40" power supply, and I really like it, so I'm not just bashing here for no reason. I just got this thing today. I plugged it in and everything seemed to work fine...so I thought. Then, as I started to charge my first 2 batteries, all hell broke loose. I have the ProTek Prodigy 620 Duo charger, which can charge at up to 20 amps per channel simultaneously. So, I started to charge 2 batteries, which are Turnigy Nano-Tech 6S 45C 5000mAh. I put them on Balance Mode at 10 amps each. The fuse blew. I went to Radio Shack to get more fuses (12 of them to be exact). Came home, stuck a new fuse in, and it blew the 2nd fuse as soon as I turned it on (with no load, nothing plugged into the power supply). So after the 8th fuse blew, I was just about to give up. But then for shits and giggles I stuck the 9th fuse in. It turned on! And then proceeded to SHOOT SPARKS AND FIRE AND SMOKE OUT OF THE FAN HOLES ON THE BACK!!!! I immediately unplugged the damn thing. I put ANOTHER fuse in it, and now it turns on just fine, but will not supply any power to the output terminals. The voltage on the LCD display reads ZERO. This thing is now completely fried. I called customer service to get an RMA so that I can send it back for a refund/replacement. The customer service agent (Nate) who helped me told me that he has heard of this type of thing happening with the "Super Pro 2000" power supply. They are having problems with this unit. Nice guy and told me the truth, which I appreciate very much. BUT BEWARE OF THIS UNIT. It's a great idea, but in reality it's dangerous. I would not recommend this to anyone. Get the "Super Pro 40" or maybe the "Super Pro 1000", but I have no experience with the "Super Pro 1000" so I cannot comment on its quality. BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dave Matison
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jan 24 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Super Pro 2000" Four Output World Edition Power Supply (30V/80A/2000W)
Second day with this power supply, and my thoughts are: 1. The fans make "noise" in the mid-frequency, so aren't too bad, but this is subjective-best in an open room; and, 2. I've used varying loads up to 40 amps and the voltage is "locked" within 1/100 of a volt, based on my TP 820CD and FMA PL-8 displays so I think it is rock stable. Sum: so far, apart from the somewhat loud fans, this is an amazing device!
Darren Rust
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jun 25 2013 (about 3 years ago)
ProTek RC "Super Pro 2000" Four Output World Edition Power Supply (30V/80A/2000W)
I hate writing bad reviews, because I know that for every bad review there's plenty of good reviews, but I have to tell the truth of my experience so people know what they're getting into! Here goes... I received the unit, and turned it on once to see if it worked. It powered up just fine, so I turned it off, and moved it to my charging station. Later, I came back and turned it on to charge my first battery, and.... nothing. It didn't power up at all! I replaced the fuse, tried a different cable, different outlet... nothing. It was dead. I shipped it back to A Main Hobbies for a replacement, and they said they couldn't repeat the problem in a bench test! So, they would not replace it, and to my frustration, they sent it right back to me. I told them I was not comfortable taking it back, and would much rather have a replacement, but nope, they wouldn't do it. The good news is, it mysteriously worked fine when I got it back! But sadly, after 13 months it died again... and bad! Blown! And, of course, conveniently, it's only warrantied for a year. I figured under my circumstances, that it was only one month outside the warranty, and it had been in transit for a couple of weeks to figure out this problem, A Main Hobbies would do the right thing and replace it THIS time. Nope. Wrong again. They would not stand behind this product. It was outside the 1 year warranty, and that was that. They did offer $100 off a new one, but come on... this is a $500 power supply! That's not good enough people. Judging by the other bad reviews, there are some real quality control issues going on with this unit, and possibly in the entire line of ProTek chargers. I can't pretend to know what they are, but I ignored the bad reviews and rolled the dice, and now I have no power supply, and I'm out $500 plus shipping. Needless to say, I won't be shopping at A Main Hobbies anymore, but hey, we all know there are plenty of competitors out there who will take care of us. Buyer beware, you are on your own!
karl Sabourin
Verified Owner
Saturday, Sep 10 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Super Pro 2000" Four Output World Edition Power Supply (30V/80A/2000W)
I purchased this unit and I am very satisfied with the quality! I dont know if it is normal, but its missing the spec plate that most electronic has explaining voltage, hertz, amps, serial number etc... 2 large fans reving lots of rpm to keep the unit cool causing quite a bit of noise. Ajustable voltage & Amps is just awesome for anykind of work and it makes it fool proof. The PSU can be used for various jobs. I just wish it had a USB port like some other Protek psu So far so good for the price 5/5