Reviews for ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W) [PTK-8513]

Displaying reviews 1 to 17 of 17
Result Pages: 1
Yung-Han Huang
Verified Owner
Friday, Nov 20 2015 (9 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
I had no RC experience and only started to play since 2014, this charger is my first one, so I can't tell you the comparison with others. But this charger is good for me, I didn't know how to start to charger until I found out I had to press for 5 seconds to see the start button. This thing is light for me to carry around, price is not to bad, so I think for newbie this is not bad.
Steven Zarzecki
Verified Owner
Friday, Mar 21 2014 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
This is a great little charger for the money. The touch screen and interface is really easy to navigate and set up. The included balance board is a little short, but you get lots of different charge leads for just about any type of battery you wish to charge. The size is really nice as well. It is compact and does not take up a lot of space on my pit table. I use mine to charge my starter box and RX lipos for nitro and it works great doing that. If you are looking for a great charger at a low price and you don't need to charge multiple batteries at once, this is just awesome. 5/5 Love it!!!!
KONSTANTINOS STEFANATOS
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jan 19 2016 (7 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
Purchased this balance charger for the 80watts power, the touch screen and the ability to read internal resistance. Overall it is a good charger, easy to navigate, bright screen and nice size and appearence. It is weird that although in the manual states that the storage voltage for the LiPo batteries is 3,85 volts (like all other chargers), it is set at 3,90 volts and it doesn't let me set it any lower. It only goes up (way up, over 4,20 volts), but no lower than 3,90 volts. I don't know why, but it is defenatly something that needs to be looked, unless i do something wrong. Also the internal resistance numbers vary from one messurement to another messurment even if you do it multiple times one right after the other. I guess, it is there to give just an indication approximetly of the resistance. I don't know how this feature works on other chargers, this is the first one of mine to measure internal resistance. Still nice thing to know the condition of the battery.
Brian Ferencin
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jul 21 2015 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
I Picked this Charger Up For the Price...Got it on a Saturday Morning Used it @ a Race on Sunday to charge up my Dynamite Reaction 6000Mah 80C 4S Lipo Pack's... @ first look I thought I don't know how good this Charger would perform under Race Conditions & Constant Charging of Packs Between Rounds "Because it is not Rated as a RACING CHARGER in the SPEC's... But My worries where over as soon as they started.. This ProTek Charger performed without a hitch Kept my Packs @ a Full Charge & Full Per Cell Count Voltage as well each time I Volt tested my packs... The touch screen is very easy to navigate / Charger is very simple to use / The onboard cooling Fan keeps the Unit fairly cool during Charging "did not have to use an external Fan for cooling like some of my fellow Off-Road Racers are seen doing with there Chargers" / & is a must on race day to have a Charger that is easy to use & holds up to the rigors of a Race Day...Would recommend picking up this Charger as I did as a Second Charger Weather your a Racer "Like myself" or a Backyard Basher...
Daniel Quinton
Verified Owner
Monday, Sep 29 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
bad charger had it for about a month and it has blown up smoke and everything. Wasn't even charging anything just pluged in to power outlet, sitting and waiting to be used and all of a sudden smoke and popping noises started coming from the charger.
Horace Adomako
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Aug 2 2016 (3 weeks ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
this product is very easy to use and practical, easy to understand and versatile. only thing is when you charge a brand new battery, don't use the auto option, as it won't fully charge the battery. Other than that I would recommend it to anyone!
Joshua Duncan
Sunday, Jul 10 2016 (7 weeks ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
This charger is great, love that it has 80w, can charge my 2s 4500 mah lipos in about 30min at 2c rate. My only gripe with this charger is that it only has memory for 1 battery, so if you have multiple packs of different Mah and cell counts, then you would have to manually enter those specs every time you charge a different batter pack. Other than that its an awesome charger, really loving the Protek brand, My lipos, servos and now my charger are all protek and haven't had any issues.
david davis
Verified Owner
Saturday, Jul 2 2016 (8 weeks ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
This is a great charger touch screen is awesome and the menu is easy to navigate through.
Rejean Bernier
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Jan 13 2016 (7 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
Best charger for the money, easy to use and program, very intuitive menus, can't go wrong with this one!
Luca Delmenico
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jan 5 2016 (7 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
Menu facile da interpretare anche senza spiegazioni , ma se ci fossero le istruzioni in Italiano o Francese sarebbe ancora più facile , in particolare per i principianti .
Yung-Han Huang
Verified Owner
Friday, Nov 20 2015 (9 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
I had no RC experience and only started to play since 2014, this charger is my first one, so I can't tell you the comparison with others. But this charger is good for me, I didn't know how to start to charger until I found out I had to press for 5 seconds to see the start button. This thing is light for me to carry around, price is not to bad, so I think for newbie this is not bad.
Yung-Han Huang
Verified Owner
Friday, Nov 20 2015 (9 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
I had no RC experience and only started to play since 2014, this charger is my first one, so I can't tell you the comparison with others. But this charger is good for me, I didn't know how to start to charger until I found out I had to press for 5 seconds to see the start button. This thing is light for me to carry around, price is not to bad, so I think for newbie this is not bad.
Cameron Auler
Verified Owner
Saturday, Sep 19 2015 (11 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
Great charger for the price. I had a few unbalanced batteries and with this charger they are all back to 100% working order. Stays around 75-80 degrees constantly. I've had this thing going for 3 hours or so with no hot temps. Always remember your LiPo bag!
Rob Rankin
Verified Owner
Friday, Jul 31 2015 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
Just got it a few days ago..... it's smaller than I imagined. But it's very cool!! I like it alot though. It's quiet and very easy to understand. I'm still stuck in the NimH age but at least now I can start updating my batteries. Thanks Amain!!
Sammie
Verified Owner
Monday, Jan 12 2015 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
Great charger for the money. Very easy to use and the backlit display makes everything very easy to read. It comes with a stylus which is a plus but I use my fingers which works just as well. Also included is charger leads for various plugs which is really great to have around if you have batteries with different style connectors. All this backed up by A Main's great service and you really can't go wrong. I wish there was a switch to turn the unit on and off instead of unplugging/replugging the power cable but this is me just nit picking. I fly helicopters now, so this was the perfect charger for me. Back when I was racing R/C cars, I would have purchased the Duo or even Quad charger.
Rowdy Yates
Verified Owner
Saturday, Oct 18 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
Great charger. Very well suited for someone who is starting out in the hobby, or for someone who is running one class at the track. Touch screen is intuitive and easy to use.
William Korb
Verified Owner
Tuesday, May 13 2014 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy Touch 680 AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/8A/80W)
This was my first "professional" quality charger. Up until now I had always used the charges included with the various craft I've purchased. I didn't know what I was missing! The various modes allow me to do just about anything I'd like (e.g. fully charge, charge for storage, discharge, etc.) and the on-screen controls are very intuitive. My only complaint (and a *very* minor one) is that it didn't come with a charge cable with an EC3 connector. I bought one from my LHS for $6, but it would have been nice to get one with the charger. All in all, this was an excellent addition to my tool chest.