Reviews for ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4) [PTK-8511]

Displaying reviews 1 to 17 of 17
Result Pages: 1
stephen schroeder
Verified Owner
Friday, Feb 21 2014 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
BIG props to AMain. I bought this charger 5 months ago and LOVE it. A couple weeks ago I had issues with the cooling fan so I called AMain about it. Long story short with no questions asked 2 weeks later I have a BRAND NEW one at no cost. I love dealing with a company who understands customer support. AMain knows how to take care of their customers.
Sean Williams
Verified Owner
Tuesday, May 20 2014 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
the first charger i got had an issue where it worked for five mins and turned off and never powered on again. after talking with amains customer service i sent it back and they got me another one in the mail which i will have back quickly. my friend has the same charger he bought in march and the thing is awesome. we both use it between our four cars and theres no wait for batteries which is really nice if it costs you 10-15 bucks to practice at your local track and your waiting 30-45 mins for batteries to catch up due to the fact your only charging one pack at a time this charger speeds up that process which in the long run pays for its self. (if you have multiple packs). so def a great buy if your running two or more cars. this charger is awesome just because i had a problem does not mean yours will there are a ton of these out there that have no issues. plus amain took care of mine with no problems i was a little disappointed that i had to pay for return shipping and insure it. but its fixxed and i will no longer complain.
ROGER SAMUELS
Verified Owner
Friday, Jan 9 2015 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
I received my charger today, after opening the box I was impressed the quality is very good. Everything is included 4 balance boards, 4 charge cables bullet to deans, along with others. Setup is very easy I connected (2) 6s 2200mah and (2) 3s 2200mah it wasn't very long till I heard first beep and shortly the other three. The fan is very efficient and quiet. I started this hobby in 1975 after returning from overseas. I have seen a lot of chargers at various fields, and owned quite a few, This is without a doubt the best of all. That said it seems to be very well built charger, however now the test of time.
Brian Skube
Verified Owner
Saturday, May 21 2016 (4 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
I purchased this charger back in October because I finally needed a 4 slot charger. I saw this one, the price looked right and after hearing that they actually build the chargers right there, I wanted to support them. So not long after I purchased the charger, the cooling fan started to grind a bit when it's cold, but would subside when it warmed up (bearing already going bad?) It really didn't affect my charging so I dealt with it for awhile. Now recently charging port 2 will not give any indication that charging is completed. The other 3 ports work fine. So since its still under warranty I'm going to go ahead and contact them. Let's see if my Rating goes up after they handle my request.
Jason Hay
Thursday, Apr 14 2016 (5 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
Fantastic charger. I had owned the predecessor, but one of the balance ports went bad, so amain sent me this one as a replacement. there isn't much difference between the 2 models, but i've been nothing but satisfied.
Charles Messel
Verified Owner
Thursday, Mar 3 2016 (6 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
Been playing with the charger for a couple of days now, and overall, it is an impressive charger. Got it quickly and will say the service was great and the price was good. Positives - Solid and works well. Comes with lots of connectors, and 4 balance boards. 80 watts per channel is better, as many of the comparable chargers are 50 watts per, which is just a bit short for some batteries. Being able to charge different types and sizes of batteries at the same time is nice. All 4 channels are totally independent. Negatives are - really loud fan. Sounds like one of my quads running on the table. Horrible manual. After a bit, it becomes clear, but some items such as memory save / load, are not even mentioned in the manual. Still trying to figure out the memories. LOL Overall, I think this will serve me well for many years, and yes I would buy it again.
Brian Flynt
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Feb 3 2016 (7 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
Great charger so far. Comes with 4 balance boards and several adapters. My first charger that wasn't part of a rtr/rtf kit so I have limited knowledge but once I figured out that you have to have the main charge leads as well as balance charge leads connected to balance charge it worked like a charm.
Ken
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Sep 23 2015 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
Had the charger for a little while now and it works great! Balance charges all of my LiPo batteries. Had to buy extra charging cords since I use XT60 connectors on almost all of my batteries. Only ones I don't either have a built in charger, or came with their own charge leads to plug into the charger. **Positives: balance charges 4 lipo's at once and they don't need to be the same capacity or cell count. comes with 4 balance boards works off both AC and DC power without the need of an external power supply. fully independent charging channels charges relatively fast very simple and easy to set up and use **Negatives: emits a warm or almost burnt electronics smell from the exhaust fan and has ever since the first moment it was turned on. Though everything works properly and nothing ever gets hot or even warm to the touch. fan is always on even when batteries are finished charging until you clear all 4 channels after the charge is complete and then the fan finally shuts down. Be nice if the fan turned off after the last battery finished charging as it is rather loud. Overall it's a good charger and a great seller with fast prompt shipping.
Christopher Lang
Verified Owner
Sunday, May 17 2015 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
I've been wanting a 4-channel battery charger for years and finally decided to pickup this ProTek charger. I initally planned on buying the slightly cheaper HitecX4 but realized it didn't come with a full set of balancing boards or quite as many charging adapters as this model, which to me made the ProTek a better deal. I'm very happy with this charger so far. I've used all 4 channels at 5 amps without problem. It balances lithium packs very well and charges nickel batteries as well as you would expect it to. The interface and button combinations is a little trickier than I was expecting but once you understand that some of the buttons serve two purposes it makes it easy. ("Battery Type" is also the "cancel" button, which I think is a bit odd.) It's relatively compact and lightweight considering it handles four channels AND has an AC/DC power supply built in. The exhaust fan isn't horribly noisy but it's not quiet, either. At low speeds mine makes a pretty gnarly whining noise, almost like it's about to die, but then it quickly ramps up to a higher RPM and the whine goes away. I imagine if the fan ever goes out it would be relatively easy to replace with a faster/quieter unit. My only complaint (and you could barely call it one) is that regardless of which channel(s) are being used all four displays light up. It would be really cool to have the display turn off if the channel is not being used. However, this is easily the nicest and most sophisticated charger I've used yet and plan on keeping it for the long haul.
Edward Yishar Quiroz
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jan 11 2015 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
Excelente producto y muy intuitivo, lo mejor es los diferentes voltajes que maneja, y la capacidad de carga de baterias
Linda Rodriguez
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Jan 6 2015 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
I did a lot of research and looked at a ton of chargers before buying this one. I am very pleased I put in the extra work because I am very happy with the Protek. It is easy to navigate and the fan is smooth on mine. I rarely do reviews but I felt this charger deserved one. I haven't been using it very long but so far it has been smooth sailing. The only thing I found a bit odd is the lack of a on/off switch- I plan on using a surge protector as a on/off for ac charging in the future. Definitely not a deal breaker though.
ronnie bell
Verified Owner
Thursday, Nov 20 2014 (about a year ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
hi, I was very skeptical about buying this charger but after I received it, I was happily surprised. I have 3 other chargers {wont say the names} and this charger iss the Cadillac of chargers. ig youre looking for a quick, compact, easy to use charger, this is the one for you. This charger keeps 2 boats on the water all day long. Im very happy and satisfied with this purchase. il be shopping here again soon, Only thing I was bummed about is I didn't get a free T-shirt.....Ronnie Bell
Jad Alame
Verified Owner
Monday, Mar 3 2014 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
Great charger, good value for money. Feels robust and heavy duty. Very convenient for multiple charging. Does not heat up. Loud cooling fan. Recommended.
Khaled Amer Al Ahbabi
Verified Owner
Saturday, Mar 1 2014 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
i got this a week ago, it's great charger but i got a little issue with the big fan, it makes a noise, also the case's bottom is not flat so when i put it on the flat table it would movie up and down from a side when i press any key i don't know if any one got the same problems ?
JOHN STAHLMAN
Verified Owner
Saturday, Feb 8 2014 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
Charger works great! Very easy to use. Would recommend this charger if you are running multiple race classes and have a short time between races.
louis figueria
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Nov 27 2013 (about 2 years ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
i picked this thing up last week, and wow, what a great charger, it even fits in my small drawer of my hauler bag, i can charge 4 2cell lipos at 8 amps, at the same time...
Carl Beavers
Verified Owner
Monday, Mar 7 2016 (6 months ago)
ProTek RC Prodigy 67 Quad AC LiPo/LiFe AC/DC Battery Charger (6S/7A/80W x 4)
Bought this charge over a year ago and it has been flawless, also has kept me out of trouble a couple of times. That is the best part!