Reviews for Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug) [NVRPLUS21-4C]

Displaying reviews 1 to 17 of 17
Result Pages: 1
Merdith Roach
Wednesday, May 25 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
I'm kicking myself in the butt for not getting this engine sooner. I am a die hard Nova fan that mostly runs p5's and I was afraid this engine would not have enough torque, boy was I wrong. This engine is awesome. It pulls hard like the p5 but is a bit smoother throughout the powerband. It really lays the power to the ground and that alone makes this engine great. I can drive harder and not get in trouble, and it spins a few more rpm's than the p5, not bad at all. The billet piston took a while to break in although the billet pistons don't seem to last as long. While other engine makers try to give the best bang for 200 bucks, and others approach 500 dollars it's nice to see Novarossi hit the nice middle ground in price. I used a 9853ss pipe with the Nova short round header with a 7mm insert and it's fantastic.... The 9853ss gives the smooth plus-4 more low end power and really lets it scream. So if you want the best engine for your buggy, then here it is.....Mad Dog tested and approved....
John Hillmann
Wednesday, Jun 22 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
I just started running this engone about 1 gallon ago. ALL my other engines are OS SPEED's. while the O.S. Speed is an AWESOME engine, it's a little pricey... So far, this NOVA engine has been very impressive. It's fast and plenty of power for any buggy / truggy or track. I'm used to the OS speed's performance, so if I ran something that was far less, I would notice it.. but sometimes, I wonder if this engine is faster!!! I dont think it really is, but it's hard to tell the difference on the track. but I really notice it in the wallet. AWESOME ENGINE, I would 100% recomend this engine. as far as flameouts, I think thats just a tuning issue. trust, me I've had my issues with tuning engines that I know are in perfect working order. User error is 99% of the time the problem. I cant stress enough AIR LEAKS are the worse enemy when it comes to tuning. some people are suprised at how the slightest air leak can cause such a tuning issue. seal your motor, check your fuel lines, check your slide carb boot, check your fuel tank, check for leaks in the front bearing. then check it all again.. if your still having issues, dont give up, I know its frustrating but let someone else give it a try. or be patient. I like to start from the factory settings if I cant get it right. and that means START WITH SETTING YOUR IDLE!!! the Idle gap is often overlooked. these are small engines that turn a billion rpm's, so even the slightest problem can have drastic results... if you want to see that I'm a verified owner of anything I write a review on, come to the track. I appreciate informative reviews, not just AWESOME engine, kicks ass, super fast... etc... some of you know what I mean :) john
Warren Williams
Monday, Aug 23 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
Samuel, I have one of these engines myself, it has about 2 gallons on it and I am very pleased with it so far. I have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind to answer them: About how many gallons of fuel do you run through your engines before you do a complete breakdown and clean? What do you use to clean it with as far as chemicals? In my opinion, I do not think it is ok to clean the piston and sleeve with chemicals such as brake cleaner, it seams to strip off some of the necessary residue causing the enigine to leak off pressure if held at top dead center once you put it back together. Let me know what you have experienced. And one last question, if you do not mind to let me know what your carb settings are at, thousands of an inch would be great. Make sure to mention if the head of the needle is above or below the needle barrel and please include your idle set screw. I measure mine directly next to where it threads into the plastic case. I know this is alot to ask for but if you could I would appreciate this information. Thank you and May God bless you. Romans 10:9-10
Samuel Brock
Monday, Aug 23 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
Just opened the 11th gallon on one.. I have 6 of them three in Losi 2.0's one in a MBX6 M-Spec.. 1 in a 8ight T 2.0 and 1 in a XB808 2K10.. most have less then three gallons 2 are brand new in brand new 2.0's never even started them... These engines are very strong with more top end and mid range torque then my old FAV engine that I owned more then 25 of the GRP Tuned line .21.... hard to believe this engine has a lot more top end then the GRP's as those engines are WICKED fast.. this engine pulls from bottom to top faster then most engines ive run/own.... These engines can still gain about 15% over all power with a good mod on them as mine are mod'ed.. if you want smooth power (almost GRP smooth) these engines will give it to you.. gobs and gobs of torque and gobs and gobs of RPM's with good fuel use and great fuel use after a good mod. EZ to tune and holds a tune fairly.. 11 gallons on one and still plenty of power but compression is fading I would have rebuilt 2-3 gallons ago but I wanna see how long it will go.. ide say if nothing happens 2-4 more gallons before power is crap however right now it will still pull a V-Spec down straights with no problems.. I was playing yesterday morning and we have a 360 foot back stretch and and It was pulling a 2 1/2 gallon old well tuned EB mods V-Spec by 15-20 feet head temps in the 230's tuned dead on by sight and sound not temps.... these engines between 1-7 to 8 gallons are flat out monsters... Fuel time on large fast track =9 mins a tank in buggy short tracks =10 1/2 mins a tank... Still cant compete with GRP engines there I dont think anything can I was getting 12 mins on a long track and 13+ on short tight tracks with GRP engines (Yes they are that good) Anyhow buy this engine and you will be happy with it.. dont but it and get pulled by them! I would compare out of tight corner power/torque more then RB C6's and as we all know that engine was a low and mid range BEAST and this engine has close to its low and mid with more top and much better on fuel!
matt
Monday, Jul 26 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
Great motor. Sips fuel and tons of power in a truggy. You would be better to buy elsewhere as you can get them for almost $100 bucks less for some reason.
Jerry G
Friday, Apr 23 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
Great motor, smooth power even with the 6.5mm restrictor. Easy 9-10.5 minute runtims with 086 pipe on a legal 125cc tank (actually 123cc as measured). Recommend this motor to anyone. I use OD97T plugs here in So. Cal. and Byrons 30/9
Mike Eatherton
Tuesday, Apr 9 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
My son and I are fairly new to RC racing. This is our second season racing JBRL and Grass roots out here in Southern California. My son is running it in his MBX6R and it works great. I found this engine to be very easy to tune. One thing I will say if youíre having troubles tuning it is to make very small adjustments. If you are still having trouble try going to YouTube and looking up Adam Drake engine tuning. I had checked my sonís engine after seeing that video and I guess we got lucky because it was set up just like Adam had shown in the video. We run it at around 210 Degrees and it has plenty of power. I recently ran it on my RC8.2 and RC8T at the Dirt Nitro Challenge and it ran great. I ran it up to around 225 Degrees and had no flame outs and no issues. I was getting about 11 mins on my Buggy and around 9.5 mins on my truck. Great engine, Even better now that the price has gone down.
matthew fitts
Tuesday, Dec 8 2009 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
This is a great engine no problem with flameouts. Check your lowspeed needle if it is too lean than it will flame out. I would not give up on this engine it rips. Still great motor over 4 gallons on it now runs like a champ and even better it is even cheaper $274 with $25 coupon you cannot beat the quality you get with this motor for that price. I know amain will not keep the prices there long so get them while you can.
SteveBOX360
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Jan 26 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
I personally have this engine and have ran 1 gallon thru it and have it tuned on the slightly richer side before I begin my 2nd gallon on it and begin leaning out a bit to get the best tune. I'm running the 41021 short manifold and 9901 pipe on my Eight T 2.0...Feels strong and most have said the engine will come to life after another gallon or so with a better tune. Definitly sounds different than most other engines on the track...
brandmx
Verified Owner
Monday, Aug 30 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
This is to Joey Drake. Joey, give that engine another shot. If you have a small air leak, the motor will rev up once it expands and gets warm. So naturally you turn down the idle thinking you are fixing the issue. You probably have an a small air leak. Make sure that the carb set screw, the carb base and the front plate are sealed well. I used Lucky 7 on the 4 screws on the front plate and on the carb base and carb set screw. The motor is perfect. Idles perfect and is easy to tune once you get 1 1/2 to 2 gallons through it. Use the suggested base settings and go in on the screws in 1 hour increments until you got it. The base settings are are pretty good for 75 degree weather and at sea level. Once you have established your base mark, write down what track you are at and the temperature that day. Its an awesome motor and super easy to drive. Great pull from bottom and real strong on top. -//- This is to Joey Drake. Joey, give that engine another shot. If you have a small air leak, the motor will rev up once it expands and gets warm. So naturally you turn down the idle thinking you are fixing the issue. You probably have an a small air leak. Make sure that the carb set screw, the carb base and the front plate are sealed well. I used Lucky 7 on the 4 screws on the front plate and on the carb base and carb set screw. The motor is perfect. Idles perfect and is easy to tune once you get 1 1/2 to 2 gallons through it. Use the suggested base settings and go in on the screws in 1 hour increments until you got it. The base settings are are pretty good for 75 degree weather and at sea level. Once you have established your base mark, write down what track you are at and the temperature that day. Its an awesome motor and super easy to drive. Great pull from bottom and real strong on top.
chipmunk 1969
Verified Owner
Saturday, Jul 24 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
I ran this engine with my Xray 808b. I have used a turbo plug engine one time before this one. RB 2045 pipe. Motor was easy to break in and had great power. after one gal started having problems with it flaming out. I check and replaced to glow plug which seemed to look fine at the time then soon after had the same problem. I tried richening it then it was too rich, tried leaning it then wasnt getting enough blue smoke. Temp was in the 220s. Im talking about two hour increments for my adjustments. Tried tuning the low speed needle. Man , I got fed up check for fuel leaks, pipe leaks, fuel filter and replaced the fuel and pressure lines. Still the same problem. The engine is out now, has no pinch at all without the glow plug installed. Rod bearing and main bearings are good. I want on the Novarossi site and checked out recomended glow plugs and I found a chart on what the outside temp. vs glow plug type that should be used. To tell you the truth I was using the medium plug for 95 degree day. I have been racing gas powered for years so maybe I should have known this. This is the only thing that I can think of that cause this piston and sleeve to wear out prematurely. I cant say this is a bad engine so it wouldnt be fair to give it a bad review, I have ran Novarossi before with no problems. If any one reads this and has the same problems try a hotter plug and let me know how this review helps.
Joel Daigle
Verified Owner
Monday, May 3 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
Very nice .21 easy tune and very good power to low and mid range for my truggy 8-t 2.0.
Rick French
Tuesday, Apr 20 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
I bought mine about a month ago. I just raced mine for the first time this weekend. Best showing in quite some time! Break-in was no problem. Idled smooth as silk. I bought a 9901SS pipe and a 41021 header as well. Super sooooth! Very controllable power delivery. Plenty of top end. I ran a RB WS7III before so I know a thing or two about top end! I still have yet to run it with a "race" tune. Very pleased with the overall package.
Johann DF Qatar
Saturday, Apr 17 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
This engine has plenty of bottom and excellent mid and top. I'm definitely staying with 21-4C!
Greg Bruckler
Sunday, Jan 31 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
Great engine tons of bottom and a top end that lasts forever running it on my 8ight 2.0 with a dynamite 086 pipe awesome run times, no flame outs, super easy tune, running around 210 degrees, idles great will load up after a few minuets if u try to punch the throttle it will stall but if u just blip it a couple times it will clear its self out and your good. Running 20% byrons right now will probably switch to 25% Pro Driver soon should get better run times and more power.
Curt Hamner
Wednesday, Jan 6 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
Easiest Engine ever to tune. I went through about 5 motors in one year learning this stuff. I cant seem to mess this one up no matter how I tune it. Never flamed until my front bearing got a little worn after about 5 gallons. Swapped bearings and BAM back in business. So far this motor has had 2 bearing changes and a new PSR at the 8 gallon mark. Didnt really need it but I like it soo much why not :).. Now the new PSR has 4 gallons on it running stong.. I only ever run medium plugs with 25% Nitro Juice. Wont be buying any other motors until something else from Nova comes out. Last weekend I put my P5XS back in and I felt like I was being cheated out of the true power I was getting used to. 21-4C all the way for me. Its like running an OS VSpec with a longer life.
Joey Drake
Sunday, Dec 6 2009 (about 6 years ago)
Novarossi Plus 21-4C 2010 TEAM Ceramic Edition .21 Off Road 4 Port Buggy Engine (Turbo Plug)
If you can tune like the "Drake", not me the other Drake this is a great engine. As for me, the average club racer, it flamed out in every A-main I ran it in. The other 12 or so engines I've owned were no problem to tune but this one has a narrow margin for error. I'm getting a P5X.