Reviews for Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit [LOSB0127]

Displaying reviews 1 to 20 of 41
Result Pages: 3
scott steiner
Verified Owner
Sunday, May 1 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
This is a winning 4x4 Short coarse truck. It feels alway in control and I can run it as fast as my 8ight buggy. It is heavy and requires good electronics to run well, but the weight is also a benefit, giving you great traction and control(and as a bonus you can push around almost any other light 4x4 truck). I only use this truck for racing and I haven't broken anything other that a body mount, and it was all my fault. If you are a clown shoes driver you will break anything and the extra weight will help with that. Any good driver will love this truck.
Jonathan Bunton
Saturday, Feb 18 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Very good Roller 4x4 sct. i havent had any problems with diffs leaking, only problem is the screws holding the shocks to the a-arms come loose or strip out. i think its from a specific jump at the local track but thats the only problem havent broken anything. got diffs at a 5-5-3 with aka enduro, an tekin rx8 with 5.5t. works for me normally at the top except on off days. and able to run 10min mains with 2s.
michael fosdick
Sunday, Aug 28 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Close to perfect. Tight turning. 10-15 minute runtimes on 2s 550. Jumps much better comes alive on 3s w/2000-2800kv motors + 13-15t pinion but not legal. I'm a basher so I found 2s 550 motors to be not enough. I wanted to go faster than 35mph for longer than 12 minutes without overheating so I HAD to go 3s to suit my driving style. I needed alum chassis braces f+r, stronger bumpers f+r, stronger towers f+r. The center diff outdrives are a bit wobbly after short use so I have my eye on them. I bought the latest version which is supposed to have upgrades over v1. The stock tires work very well on track and dirt. I've heard the wheels are vehicle specific so I bought them to mount up gladiator sc which mounted with no problems. Upgrades are normal for all of the 150 cars/trucks I've owned but I didn't expect to spend another 100+ on this when they already cost 300 for just a roller. Add in a radio system, motor, esc, servo and this can cost about as much as a 1/8 ebuggy. It is what it is though- a top notch sc 4x4. Top notch racers don't come cheap no matter what class your into.
Joshua Hansen
Saturday, Jun 18 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Awesome truck. The Best out to date 6/18/11. Can't wait to see a TLR version but this thing is pretty nice. No regrets at all about this SCT very glad I sold the others for this as it finally makes me proud to drive SCT. Super Fast have seen people keep right up within less than a sec of the TQ 1/8th scale buggies. If a Truck can do that you know it's the next step in performance.
Phillip Wozniak
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Aug 10 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Best 4 wheel SC truck out there IMO. Put a Tekin RX8 with the T8 Tekin 2250kv 1/8 scale motor in it and it is a rocket with a 18t pinion and the motor or speedo do not even get hot at all. I have not tried a 4cell in the truck as I think it would tear it apart with to much power. As for the track it stick to it like glue as I am sure the added weight of my power system is quite a bit, but the power is unbelieveable. I recomend anyone to run either the RX8 system with either a 550 can or the T8 1/8 motor. I bet the castle mamba monster and the 2200kv motor would be a great choice in this truck also. I have found that at least 15-19t pinions will work with these motors since they are so big in the mount. Only a little modding to get the motor to fit. Well worth it. BUY ONE YOU WILL BE HAPPY RC'R : )
Aaron Kilander
Thursday, Feb 28 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Best 4WD SCT platform on the market in my opinion.
Vince
Saturday, Oct 20 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
I love this thing. Best Short Course truck I have ever driven. I have driven the SC10, SC10 4x4, Slash 4x4, Blitz ESE, XXX-SCT, Slash 2wd, etc. The SCTE beats them all. Handling is superb. It corners very well yet sill manages to stay very planted. This is probably due to it's weight. It's a bit on the heavy side, but I see no downsides to this on the track. It just means you need a stronger motor. I use the Tekin 4600kv SC motor paired up the an RX8 and it flies on a 2S lipo. Durability, out of the box is good, but not great. The chassis and the shock towers are not 7075 aluminum. They are slightly cheaper grade, which means they can bend. If you run off big jumps and hammer this truck, they could take some damage. I would give it a "B-" for durability. Now, if you are going to do some serious racing, you will need some upgrades. They are not cheap, but they really make a difference. The TLR Tuning kit is the first thing you will want to get. There are a ton of great upgrades in this kit. For instance, the stock towers are replaced with very nice tough carbon fiber one's. The next thing you will want is a 7075 aluminum chassis. A lot of companies are making an alum chassis for the SCTE, so you have a lot of choices to choose from. These two major upgrades change the durability to a solid "A" rating and transforms the SCTE into an elite racer. This truck races so well and is so easy to drive that it makes me look much better than I actually am. On my very first race with it I came in 1st place. I've never been able to win with a car that I just purchased. Never. You will not be disappointed with this truck.
Paul
Verified Owner
Friday, Jun 22 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Had to put a review in after reading the previous one. Sounds like alot of abuse brought on the bending/breaking of the chassis/shock towers. There's at least a half dozen of these running on our track and no-one has experienced this sort of damage. If you run it on a big 1/8 size track and nose-dive into a ramp or land heavily upside down you are going to experience these sort of problems with any vehicle. Would have to say this 4WD CORR is great out of the box with no mods required but even better with the upgrade kit and some time experimenting with diff oils. Certainly the one to beat at our track!
James Bray
Saturday, May 5 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
I decided to get this truck after much looking, read reviews, and you tube videos. I couldnt be happier. It was between this and the AE SC10 4x4. I am so glad i went with this. Some of the guys at the track so regret getting AE over losi. The center diff will beat out the belt anyday of the week. The weight of this truck is a blessing, you are planted pretty much all race untill the doubles and it flyes pretty good. Ive always been a basher, never a racer. Took this truck to the track and after an hour total of practice with this truck i placed 3rd. The top 4 finishers were all driving this truck. The thing drives its self
Dawn Rockwell
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Jul 13 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Ok Truck not the best for bashing. I perfer the Slash 4x4 for baqshing but this is king on the tack.
steve rivera
Wednesday, Jun 29 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
nice truck but the diffs leak a bit anf it washes out my very expensive bearing ive replaced the orings and also a new diff housing
HUnter Weiss
Verified Owner
Tuesday, May 31 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Awesome short course truck. It took some thought to buy this because of the rumors of the sc10 4x4 coming out. I am happy I bought this and since it wasn't a kit I was even happier. It took around 40-50 battery packs to actually break something and thats from hitting a bench going full throttle. Not bad. It wouldn't have broken if my friend could drive. I really recommend this to newbies also as it can be tuned for bashing or racing. All you need is electronics and your set.
brian yinger
Verified Owner
Tuesday, May 10 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
I love this truck !! raced it last week came in 1st in both heats. was 3rd in the A main race(got in a pile up at the start)and this was my first time racing it!!!! new diff pins,big motor,5-3-3 diff oil,this truck is awsome!best rc car i have.
Hugh Hefner
Monday, May 2 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
This is definitely one of the BEST ARR SC trucks out there. I have installed the Tekin SC4X 4.5T with Mamba Max Pro ESC and the Team Associated DS1015 servo. The Tekin motor is incredible but I wouldn’t recommend pairing it up with the Mamba Max Pro (terrible cogging and glitches). Do yourself a favor and just spend the extra cash and get the RX8 ESC to eliminate the headaches of the Mamba ESC. Would have given it 5 stars but at $300 dollars it should include the nicer aluminum shock towers, shock caps and those dam diff pins should have been hardened. My opinion is losi should have made this a kit with the upgrades included at the $300 price point and saved the labor making it ARR. The guy that left the three star rating should learn how to land a jump then he wouldn’t need to replace all those broken parts are just go back to a Slash.
Nick Olesen
Friday, Apr 8 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
I purchased this truck after looking at alot of the 4x4 trucks on the market right now. I was also looking at the AE sc10 4x4. So I purchased this kit and ran it for first time last weekend. My first time running the class and it is super fast out of the box. I only changed the diff to 5/7/2 and let it rip. I qualified 3rd out of 14 trucks and finished 2nd to another Losi. You will not be disappointed buying this truck it is a blast to drive and fast!!!!!!!
David Ortiz
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Mar 30 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
This truck is amazing ! Took it to the PNB IV.! and it was great had a blast ! my truck was the fastest truck there next to Jeremy kortz .. but my battery kept dying too soon ! i still dunno what it was maybe the larger track ,,, anyway this truck is Great to drive ! 5-3-3 is the way to go with diff fluids ,,32.5 all around on the shocks!! good luck !!!
Brian Zeine
Verified Owner
Monday, Mar 28 2011 (about 5 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
Awesome truck!! I have owned, the Slash, the Jammin, and the Hoboa. In my opion, the LOSI is the class of the field.
Carl V
Verified Owner
Monday, Dec 9 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
I've had this truck for about 4 months now and have been bashing it HARD. I was able to score it for a decent price and used the money that I saved (and then some) for some upgraded parts to increase the reliability and strength of the drivetrain. The truck's taken some pretty bad hits and nothing major broke. The stock body didn't last too long, so plan on replacing that after a few months of hard use. If you've read other honest reviews about the Ten-SCTE, you'll notice a lot of people complaining of the center drivetrain, specifically the bad angle from the center diff outdrive to the front driveshaft. The TLR lightened HD center diff outdrive that I installed is worn in a "scalloped" pattern from increased wear and contact from the driveshaft pin; the driveshaft pin itself is worn down to about half of the diameter. Save up and get the Tekno center driveshafts, TLR lightened HD center diff outdrives, and the King Headz center diff and motor mounts. More importantly, get the King Headz chassis. To the best of my knowledge, it's the only chassis for the SCTE that rotates the center diff/motor assembly so the front driveshaft-to-center diff angle isn't as bad. With the aforementioned upgrades and a Hobbywing 4000 kv 540 can with the 15 tooth pinion and stock 40 tooth spur gear, I'm getting as little as 25 minutes run time on low traction surfaces (loose dirt) and up to 40 minutes on high traction surfaces (asphalt) with my 8,200 mAh 2S LiPo packs. I usually see motor temps averaging about 140*F in ambient temps in the mid-70s. I've clocked the truck maxing out at 35-36 mph on GPS with a 4.35" tall tire. With the relatively low motor temp, I can probably afford to gear up for more speed and still be safe. For the money that I spent on this roller, I'm VERY happy. I just have to knock it down to 4 stars because of the drivetrain issue.
GAGE TWEEDIE=11 YEARS OLD
Monday, Nov 25 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
I GOT THIS TRUCK A FEW DAYS AGO AND IT LOOKS LIKE IT IS A NICE TRUCK.I`M GOING TO PUT A SPECTRUM SERVO IN IT AND A TEKIN RX8 WITH A TEKIN 4500KV MOTOR AND A SPECTRUM RECIEVER. I HOPE IT WORKS OUT GREAT.
Taimur Shah
Verified Owner
Friday, Nov 22 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Losi TEN-SCTE 4WD Short Course Rolling Chassis Kit
The is My first SCT and I have been in this Hobby for about 10 Years now. I can easily say that this is one of the most durable Trucks I have driven. Installed the Mamba Max Pro SCT and it is Amazing. Drop in a good Steering Servo, Radio/Receiver and Motor/ESC and you're Bashing Hard before you know it. I found the torque to be a bit low at first but then plugged in the Castle Surface Link and upped the Punch and it is exactly how I would want it to be - Extremely Aggressive and Mean :) A great introduction to the SCT side of RC and I would recommend this ARTR Kit to anyone. Well Done Losi!