Reviews for Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug) [DYNP5225]

Displaying reviews 1 to 11 of 11
Result Pages: 1
Asbar Masroor
Friday, Jan 6 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
All i have to say is WOW, what a engine, very easy to tune, and very powerfull. Very consistent, and hold tuning well, also gives very good run time, this engine will keep up with any engine from my experience, to tell you the truth it is a liittle faster than other engins, and everyone asks me what engine i am using. For the price you can't go wrong. I would definitly buy this same exact engine again. I would higly recomend this engine to everyone.
Dean Wells
Verified Owner
Monday, Sep 3 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
I got this engine back in may and it's awesome. Takes longer to break in than some and def longer to break in than what the instruction say. This is now my 3rd one and would def buy again. Petience is everything w/these engines. It takes atleast a full gallon for breakin and the run best slightly richer than most. I've run 4 to 5 gallons on each w/no loss of pinch as of yet. Grat engine for the money.
Larry Cooper
Verified Owner
Tuesday, May 29 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
junk lost red sil.out of crank in 1 1/2 gal of fuel went into transfer ports will not run,sending in for repairs oooboy....
kyle howard
Wednesday, Apr 11 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
this motor is crap dont waste the money i have 2 gallons in it and from the 3 tank it doesnt hold tune for anything lost pinch the carb is a joke dont waste the money nova has nice priced motors like the p5 xlt and its a beast power for days 8 to 10 min run time at race pace
Martin Plourde
Wednesday, Aug 4 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
Bought this engine for my Jammin' x2 buggy. I had the .21XP before and switch to this V2. Amazing difference between both! V2 have more power and High RPM than the previous version. Run with Byron 25%, Dynamite 053 or 086 pipe and O.S. Turbo plug. I like this engine. The only thing I was disapointe is the breakin session. the first 3 tanks was so hard to keep engine running. But take time!!! Afther that, it will bring your R/C with power!!! Also, I tested this engine on my Jammin' X2 Truggy. This engine have nont enough power to race with on a truggy. Very limit on triple and take so much time to reach top speed. But for the price, it's a good intermediate engine for buggy.
Nikita Rushmanov
Tuesday, Nov 2 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
I cant find a pull starter that fits this, any ideas?
william stronteir
Monday, Oct 11 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
A+++++++++ a little hard to break in but after that tons of power. a little over a gallon af 30% sidwinder on it
Matt Day
Verified Owner
Monday, Sep 6 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
I bought one of these and it lost pinch in about a quart. Took it apart and found out the sleeve was out of round and the piston was severely worn on the exhaust side. Shipped it back to Horizon and they did not stand behind it. I had a $130 bill to put a new P&S in it. When it returns I will check the sleeve for roundness and send it back to Horizon if it doesn't meet my specs. I would look at a different engine if I were looking to purchase this one!
Mark Smith
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jun 20 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
Ok,so after about 3/4 gallon of fuel the engine would not tune.It would lean bog if tuned for power but mak no power if richened up.I personally though it was a carb problem.I contacted Horizon and was told to please ship it back for inspection.I called about a week later and was told the engine had lost pinch and that they were replacing the piston.sleeve and rod under warranty.I was a bit reluctant because I truly thought it was a carb issue.After receiving the engine back and breaking it in I was quite suprised.I started to race tune after tank #8 at Revelation Raceway her in So Cal.This engine runs great now,right up there with the Vspec that it replaced.The fuel consumption is a little heavy compared to the Vspec but I am running the 8mm restrictor for raw power.If anyone has driven Revelations Track lately there is a long triple jump that requires power and accelleration to get over it.This motor launches my RC8t CE with athourity.So now remains the question,how long will it last??.Only time will tell but this repaired motor does run as I expected it to run. -//- After the unique breakin procedure and 3 glo plugs later,The motor is starting to come alive.Idles well,punch out of the hole is good.Still a bit fat on top but starting to lean it out and it really seems to be a good motor. I replaced a tired Vspec with this and am curious as of the full potential.My experience with the Dynamite motors (mach 28 and mach 427) has been good.My sons 427 went 15 gallons of fuel befor finally giving in.If this one is as good as the others I will be pleased.The ceramic bearings and turbo cut/puddy filled crank is something normally found on high end engines with twice the price tag. I will review again after 2 gallons.By then I will know if this one is as good.
Paul Thomas
Tuesday, Jun 8 2010 (about 6 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
I have this motor on a d8t and it has served me well so far! It has had about a gallon and a half run threw it with no probs yet. Seems to be easy to tune and stay in tune! I have a dynamite mid range pipe and it has plenty of low end and top to please about anyone. Im sure alote of people dont think much of this motor but so far to be honest for $195 you will run right with the V-specs all day!!!!! As far as how long it is going to last is to be found out. Id like to hear from anyone else that has this motor good or bad..........
kevin pratt
Monday, Mar 19 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Dynamite Platinum .21XP "V2" 7-Port Off Road Racing Engine (Turbo Plug)
I've run 3 of these engines now, and unfortunately all 3 lost pinch at about 3 glallons and wont stay running after that. They run awesome up to that point though. Also, the carb is terrible and a weak link IMO, as I had to swap out 2 of the 3 from a crack and the air gap screw stripping, both causing air leaks.