Reviews for Align T-REX 550E DFC Super Combo Helicopter Kit w/Motor, ESC, 4 Servos, Gyro & Carbon Blades [AGNRH55E01X]

Displaying reviews 1 to 4 of 4
Result Pages: 1
Owen Graves
Verified Owner
Friday, Mar 15 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Align T-REX 550E DFC Super Combo Helicopter Kit w/Motor, ESC, 4 Servos, Gyro & Carbon Blades
This thing is amazing! This is my first large heli and first kit build. The manual makes clear sense on the build but make sure to TAKE YOUR TIME and do not rush the build. The only thing that is confusing in the manual is the 3gx setup and esc placement. Just do some research and look at other peoples builds on the web to find what you want to do. The quality is amazing too! I have a 130x, 300x, and 450x and was either going to get Blades new 550x or this TREX 550e DFC and I'm glad I went to align so far. Align makes amazing stuff but it is more expensive to replace parts in a crash just as a warning. The heli is extremely stable in hovering and when flipping is around in 3D. I am currently running a fully stock setup from the hit beside running align 550mm blades instead of 520's that come with the kit. Also Like how it only uses 1 6s battery instead of 2 like the 700 to save some money. This a great heli that takes the place of 500 and 600 because of its adjustability. With the 600 boom, 600 tail assembly, and 600 DFC rotor head this is able to become a full on 600 or scale it down to a bit smaller size if preferred. Running a Thunder Power 6s 5000 mah battery and love it! Also using a Spektrum DX8 with two spektrum satellites from the 3GX instead of running a traditional receiver. Love the clean setup because of lack of wires. I would recommend this to an intermediate and up pilot. It can be used as a first heli but other brands such as Blade will be cheaper to replace parts when crashing. Once you get the hang of the basics then you'll be fine with this excellent machine! Overall this heli is outstanding and a solid 5/5. (Recommend buying a swashplate leveling tool when building it for perfect tracking)
Tyler B
Thursday, Feb 28 2013 (about 3 years ago)
Align T-REX 550E DFC Super Combo Helicopter Kit w/Motor, ESC, 4 Servos, Gyro & Carbon Blades
Although I have the 550 fbl with the older head, Im so pleased with my purchase and customer service I wanted to post this for others thinking of an Align machine. I would give this a 5* but Ill explain. I was very impressed with the kit quality (this is my first large heli) and the support from A Main was excellent (both warehouse and store). Another plus is there's an abundance of info on the web about building and setting up this bird. So after my quadruple check of my setup and some simulator time, I successfully flew this heli 7 different occasions. Then I suppose I must have got one of the rare bad apple escs. It failed on spoolup (luckily wasnt yet in air) and burned up all of my electronics. Again the A Main heli techs came through with advice and contact info. Align stood by their product and replaced/repaired everything with a 1 week turnaround. Very happy with the whole experience and the service all around. Im in the market for a 700 and will have to stick with A Main and a Trex as I know they will support it. Also, I am very impressed with the 550s peformance. Very fun to fly and it has the bonus of only using 1 6s and still being large enough to be very stable in all conditions I've flown.
Thomas Hintz
Friday, Jan 17 2014 (about 2 years ago)
Align T-REX 550E DFC Super Combo Helicopter Kit w/Motor, ESC, 4 Servos, Gyro & Carbon Blades
The Align 550E was my first big helicopter moving up from an Align 450 Pro so I was a little wary but all that went away wen I hovered it the first time in the yard! Two days after finishing the build my club had a big helicopter meet so I flew it there and was knocked out by how easy it is to fly. Very smooth, very predictable. It just did everything I wanted and responded smoothly. This is a great helicopter that reinforces my appreciation for Align ships. I have a 700E DFC in my sights next. You can see my full review with photos and video at the link below. http://flyingrc.net/blade550xpro.html If you are looking to move up into the bigger helicopters the 550E should be at the top of your must see list.
chris gusewelle
Verified Owner
Monday, Dec 10 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Align T-REX 550E DFC Super Combo Helicopter Kit w/Motor, ESC, 4 Servos, Gyro & Carbon Blades
Align did an awesome job on this beast! This is my first flybarless heli and i love it,also my biggest. The constuction as you would expect from Align is top notch, and the additions to the size is really great! It has a lot of power and speed which is important to me! I coudnt be happier with this heli! Get one today!!!