Reviews for Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger) [TRA3707]

Displaying reviews 1 to 10 of 10
Result Pages: 1
Cole Otto
Wednesday, Nov 14 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
The rustler vxl is essentially an old truck with a fast motor in it the handling characteristics are poor but ok for a basher the turning radius is horrible except when going slow and even when you have good tires it is hard to get traction because of no rear toe in also the motor combo while fast gets very hot compared to others in it's class I was getting temps of 195-210 on a normal run and other motors run around 160 so all in all if you really want a rustler and want it to be fast I would buy the brushed edition and sell the new esc and motor and buy the castle creations sidewinder sct combo all together it will be about the same price as the vxl but you will be rewarded with a much happier better running truck also on one last note if you plan on buying a brushless rustler save yourself the hassle and get the nip x duty driveshafts right away the stock plastic ones don't last long at all
Alfredo Rodriguez
Verified Owner
Sunday, Nov 11 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
The rustler VXL has a lot of power without a doubt but at a price not so apparent until you race it. You are better off using it for recreational use than for racing. The good: Power, durability (after upgrading to RPM parts which runs about $66), fast. Decent motor and ESC combo. A good basher for the price. Most replacement parts on the rustler are inexpensive and for the speed it is capable of, I consider it to be a good deal. The bad: Understeer, the Rustler's heavy rear end gives it trouble turning quick enough, despite opening up the toe angle. Braking is required in order to make it turn better which is the area I noticed I got passed a lot when on the track. The stock parts (A-arms, caster blocks, bearing carriers, and even the drive axles) are fragile. You can expect to replace a part or two within days of owning it being that you run it hard or at the track. Jumps are what tend to be the most damaging. The rear wing can get damaged very easily, which is a really big gripe of mine. I've gone through two bodies where the wing did not last more than a few weeks before getting totally wrecked and unusable. Furthermore, its attachment to the body lends itself to pulling on the body during crashes making the body get damaged near the rear brake light areas. The body is attached by 3 body mounts with the rear one always taking severe abuse no matter what you try and do. I finally had to do a custom metal mounting hole that attached to the body by two screws on either side in order to make the body usable again. The front is very light, making the rustler pop wheelies (which in a show standpoint is neat to look at) easily and therefore losing control of steering, making it difficult to have it use the full power of a high discharge lipo battery without putting some weight on the front of the chassis. The suspension screws are prone to bending and 3 times now, I've had to purchase a complete set ($4.50 each) just because I needed to replace the screws that went through the front bearing carrier and caster blocks because they were getting bent and causing the wheels to separate from the body with minor crashes. Other dissapointing factors are the stock tires, they simply are not good. The front lobed tires do not have enough of power to steer the car, the rear tires are the jack of all trades, master of none, making them a mediocre tire used just to destroy in bashing and what not and then buy dedicated tires for each environment (pavement, dirt, all terrain). Bottom line, the rustler is the faster version of a $200 design which has its many flaws. However, faster does not mean its as good as other better built designs from other RC companies that may not have as powerful motors/ESC's in that price range. If you are just looking for a basher to take around the block or the park and maybe a few races around the track that are not that serious or just some laps around it, this truggy is for you but expect to upgrade a number of parts before it becomes nearly invincible (aka a good basher) on the track. If you decide to purchase the Rustler VXL: Know that Traxxas has a very solid Customer Service. They replaced two of my ESC's free of charge after I sent them with a letter of what happened. I strongly reccomend two heat sinks for the motor be acquired: Traxxas Fined Aluminum Motor Heat Sink #3822 and ST Racing Concepts Aluminum Heatsink Motor Plate #3691 to improve performance and longevity of the motor. Also, get the Traxxas Velineon ESC Cooling Fan #3340 for the ESC to do the same. If you are tired of having your front end come up non stop, get a wheelie bar, it will help out a lot. Acquire the right type of tires for the job, dont run dirt tires on concrete if you want them to last any longer than a week. Dont use monster truck tires on concrete if you are planning on pulling high G's and moving at the speed of light; use the right tires for the job. A final note on monster truck tires, save yourself from stripping your spur gear when using monster truck tires by lowering your pinion/spur setup to 19/86 or something similar. For high speed runs on concrete with 3S lipo, go for 31/76, you may have to add weight to the front in order to keep the lightweight front from being blown over.
Brett Fraley
Verified Owner
Thursday, May 31 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
i've owned this truck for 8 months and it has been a bit of a disappointment. Its super fast and handles well with its low center of gravity. But i have had to replace way to many broken parts. the durability was the disappointment.
Jordan Williams
Verified Owner
Friday, May 27 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
I have been in the hobby for 5 years now and this is a awsome little truck aspessially for beginners (age 9+) i have had one for 2 and a half years now and i am a hardcore basher and racer, i have spent a stupid $1100 on it and i am sorry i did it if you are getting it KEEP IT MOSTLY STOCK! desides RPM parts, i have clocked it at 148km!! i think that is about 85mph ?, i am not a fan of 2wd cars but this one is by far my favoroute 1/10 2wd truck yet, my 8yr old friend has one and he goes very well whith it but i would mutch prefer the 1/16 e revo to this but it is still a great truck!
Henning nielsen
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Sep 7 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
A great car!!It works really well onroad with the anaconda tires. I have owned this car for a month now and i think i have crashed only twice on-road!! Offroad is the same story. The car is easy to control in-air and on-ground :) And the speed, OMG its fast, i measured it stock with 7-cell battery. It ran 59,9km/t, and that was with a 200gr GPS on it. Everything is perfect on this car, except for the stock rear shock tower. You might want to change that to RPM. I would definetly recommend this car to everyone pro or beginner.
Francis Stevens
Wednesday, May 18 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
Really great car! It is a little more fragile then some other Traxxas but the speed more than makes up for that!
David Hicks
Verified Owner
Saturday, Mar 12 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
my wife got hers and she took off an a-arm in twenty min. i put st racing concepts in the next day the whole car and i got to admit she luvs it it is almost as good as speed-t but the to of them 2gether we tear the track apart always in first and second placers thanks 4 the badass cars
Randy Gagnon
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Oct 13 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
Great truck right out of the box. The problem: the transmission. First thing was there is a hole cut out in the slipper clutch case to prevent it from contacting the right rear driveshaft/axle. This leaves a problem with dirt and mud being able to get into your spur and pinion gears. It was a fairly easy home fix using a scrap piece of plastic from an old customo body kit. The bigger issue I had with the transmission was an occasional grinding sound. When I opened the tranny case, the culprit was obvious. One of the washers that was supposed to be on the input shaft (slipper clutch shaft) was loose in the case. Luckily it was stuck in some grease and not bouncing around in there. The grinding sound was from the clutch intermittently grinding against the outside of the case, due to too much play in the shaft caused by that missing washer. Once it was put back together properly, the car has been great. Upgraded parts to either aluminum or RPM composites as the broke and couldn't be happier.
Marcus Henning
Verified Owner
Sunday, Sep 5 2010 (about 5 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
Very good truggy right out of the box. Runs great. Only two gripes: (1)wheels are 2.8 so getting tires is a hassle; (2)back A-arm broke after only a little punishment on it's first run, after upgrading to aluminum there's been no problems.
Tim Quennell
Saturday, Dec 1 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Traxxas Rustler VXL Brushless RTR Stadium Truck (w/TQi 2.4Ghz, Battery & Charger)
This is a great car. I really lik the speed of it and ho it handles. I would reccomend getting the RPM front bumper for it and a better charger. In my opinion don't keep buying NimH batteries for it, go to lipo. A good all around car.