Reviews for Serpent 811-Be "Cobra" 1/8 Off Road Competition Electric Buggy Kit [SER600004]

Displaying reviews 1 to 7 of 7
Result Pages: 1
Mark M.
Tuesday, Dec 27 2011 (about 3 years ago)
Serpent 811-Be "Cobra" 1/8 Off Road Competition Electric Buggy Kit
Beyond high quality. All of the parts fit perfect and you can tell every single part has been perfectly measured to fit tight and fit the right way everywhere... I recently built a Associated RC8T as well as a MP9e from Kyosho and let me tell you this thing is just so much smoother and its crazy because the Kyosho costs a arm and a leg but I guess your just paying for the name there. Comparing it to the Associated you can just tell there cranking those associateds out of the factorty because the quality of the parts this car uses is so so so much better. This car is also very strong I have taken some high speed hits that a normal car would tear a arm off etc. from and this thing went through it like nothing. So far after a few weeks on this car theres no wear on anything and it has so much steering and drives excellent! A must have for anyone looking to run a 1/8 E Buggy!!!
Dan "GigaWatt" G.
Friday, Jan 13 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Serpent 811-Be "Cobra" 1/8 Off Road Competition Electric Buggy Kit
Let me start off by saying I am not a Serpent fan-boy. I've owned a few of them (on road and off road) and the quality has always been very high, but I've never stuck with any of their platforms for very long. Having said that, I can't see giving this buggy up until something truly amazing comes out, nothing current can touch it. Like the other reviewer stated, the parts are extraordinarily manufactured. Fit and finish is off the charts. Case in point: the buggy makes so little noise on the track it almost sounds like a 10th scale 4wd... the diffs are nearly silent (assuming you assemble them properly), the only sound comes from the mod1 mesh, which really can't be avoided. The buggy is buttery smooth, suspension is astonishing. It has tons of turn in, yet stays glued to the track. Once this thing is dialed, it will go where you point it, every time. It's extremely forgiving yet incredibly accurate, a combination I believed to be impossible. I have owned every single purpose-built (with the exception of a couple of lower-end) electric racing buggy on the market and this one crushes all of them in terms of quality and performance. I can't say enough about it. My old faithful MP9e (with TKI2 upgrades) is sitting gathering dust since I finished this build. I've been on the podium in every single race I've entered with it. One minor complaint (with an easy fix) is the kit servo horn. It's got an odd offset and fails within 2-3 runs (I know of 3 other people with this buggy and they agreed) so when you build this kit- do yourself a favor and throw out the servo horn (despite it being a little more difficult to setup without it), run your favorite aluminum one and just use spacers on the servo to adjust for the odd offset of the factory horn. Other than that- just keep playing with the various adjustments.. you'll be running your best lap times ever with this buggy. It's really incredible. Eventually you will probably want aluminum rear hubs for the sake of your bearing life, but out of the box you can compete with anything on the track, having purchased nothing but a servo horn.. really!
Nirvan Khaitan
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Mar 13 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Serpent 811-Be "Cobra" 1/8 Off Road Competition Electric Buggy Kit
It is a great car with parts that all have a snug fit, but this does make it harder to build. While building this car i received one defective part and many screw holes that needed to be pre screwed, unscrewed, and then rescrewed. This all took up a lot of time and at times the instructional manual was vague and made you do more figuring than you should have had to do. Then came the engine, man they designed this think to make you work.... there is literally no place for your wires to go and if you have a censored motor that needs sautering well your screwed. I did however think that it was cool that they made a special dock for your ESC, steering servo, and receiver. Overall this car has taken me at least 100 working hours and around $1300 and i still need to figure out how the batteries and engine wiring is going to go in. I would not reccomend this car to anyone who isn't an EXPERIENCED car builder because trust me, this is not a first time project.
gary dameron
Monday, Jul 16 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Serpent 811-Be "Cobra" 1/8 Off Road Competition Electric Buggy Kit
This buggy is nothing less then 5 stars ..This is one of those cars that don't need upgrades, its built right from the factory of the best if not the best car I've had the joy to build and drive.
Friday, Apr 20 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Serpent 811-Be "Cobra" 1/8 Off Road Competition Electric Buggy Kit
I have mixed feelings about this buggy. First of all you should know that it is a very high quality buggy. One of the best made cars I have ever seen. Fit and finish are over the top. The chassis a work of art. Very beefy. It is a true e-designed buggy and uses a dual pack setup. A pair of well designed lipo trays will keep them safe and from moving at all. On the track it drove very well. It's balanced design allowed for smooth jumping and excellent handling. Very smooth drive train, like the Mugen ECO. Now this all sounds great, but there are some drawbacks to this car. Parts are very very expensive. Think Xray+ type costs. Parts support was non existent in my area, so you might want to consider that. The car is durable, so you probably wont need a lot of replacements, but upgrades will be murder. That brings me to my next point. It needs tuning to get it right. Out of the box, it is super stiff. Obviously, it's designed for hard tracks in Europe. Over here, in the U.S., it's a different story. Once you get it tuned though, it handles very well. Steering is not good out of the box. You can use one of three different "ackermans" to adjust this. Unfortunately, they only provide one in the kit and it's the one that provides the least amount of steering. They are $24 each. Ouch! The e-design has a few drawbacks as well. It's difficult to work on. Putting the servo in is a nightmare. You have to remove the entire radio tray to get to it. Routing the wires is a challenge. Make sure you route them to the rear of the rx box. It has a good motor mount, but it's really tough getting the motor to slide out to work on it. The rx box is a bit too small and doesn't allow for a lot of wires going into it. That being said, it is a good buggy and quality-wise it is worth the money. Once you get it set up right, you will be pleased with it. For what you pay though, it is not leaps and bounds better than other less expensive buggies.
Friday, Jan 18 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Serpent 811-Be "Cobra" 1/8 Off Road Competition Electric Buggy Kit
Awesome! Finally eat the bullet to buy this guy, will build it and get ready for winter! Bought the slim HobbyWing ESC to go with it too. (may go with the RX8 or MMP)
Joel Daigle
Verified Owner
Sunday, Apr 8 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Serpent 811-Be "Cobra" 1/8 Off Road Competition Electric Buggy Kit
The car is very funny to drive. It's my first buggy, and the first electric car. good control and very good steering on power. For my first buggy i'm start with a VERRY NICE card!!! Thank you Serpent!!! :)