Reviews for ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2) [PTK-8503]

Displaying reviews 1 to 15 of 15
Result Pages: 1
Mark Smith
Verified Owner
Friday, May 27 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
This charger is just what the Dr. ordered for keeping multiple packs charged.It will charge 2, 5000mah, 2s packs in about 40 minutes.The fans are not that loud and they move quite a bit of air keeping the inner electrics cool.The buttons seemed to be a little non sensative but after speaking to the Amain product support I found they are heat sensative buttons.Rub your finger tips together and they work on command.All in all I am very satisifed with the charger so far.Easy set up and programming,Audible alarms when charge is completed.Being able to swap back and forth between channel #1 and #2 during the charge process is nice as well as checking indivdual cell progress.Yes,$150.00 for a charger is a tough one to chew on but this one works! If you have multiple packs to keep charged,get this charger!
Josh
Verified Owner
Monday, Mar 14 2011 (about 5 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
Awesome charger. Charge's my 2s Lipo's at Ten amps in about 35mins. Fans on the Sides are nice and big and keep this charger cool. Nice backlit display. Easy to use.
Devin Mick
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Apr 24 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
Great charger. easy to figure out and program. Right when i got it second port wasnt working. Amain was very helpful and fixed it with out ant hassle.
Andrew Dewoody
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Apr 4 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
Great charger! Powerful! I can balance charge 2 6S 65C 5000 mAh Turnigy Nano-Tech batteries at 10 amps each in about 40 mins. If I use "Charge" instead of "Balance Charge" I can charge them in about 15 or 20 mins. If I choose fast charge, it's about 8 minutes. All in all, this is an EXCELLENT charger. I am using it with the ProTek Super Pro 40 Amp power supply. Also, the power supply is top notch! Thanks AMainHobbies for putting out a great charger at a reasonable price! I highly recommend this charger!
Umar Musa
Verified Owner
Saturday, Aug 6 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
i love this charger, its really an excellent product, very much well worth the money. i have shown it to my lhs guy and he was shocked to know how much it cost in comparison to the hyperions which they sell. its a definite recommendation, you won't look back :)
Dan S.
Verified Owner
Monday, May 16 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
for what you pay for you dont get all the connectors you need. butt its a good charger.
Dmitry Korovin
Verified Owner
Friday, Mar 30 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
Charges and balances well. But very noisy fan!!! It's not possible to sit next to this charger!
John Taylor
Thursday, Mar 8 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
I just bought this charger to replace my two other AC/DC chargers and this is very compact DC charger and does the job as it describes. Plus way smaller then my Hyperion ac/dc charger. Wish I would have bought this a long time ago as I have been thinking about it for awhile. I have done a lot of research and for the price and options, this is in the top 3 charger list for sure. Realize other companies make a similar one too. I love how compact this is and it is blue. I am running it with a 276W (13.8v x 20A) power supply and it easily charges 2 x (4S) 5000 packs at 9.0Amps both at the same time. Only wish it had dual screens, but to switch between channel 1 and 2 is one quick click button. Besides the quick stock options, you can also program you own preset options too. Just remember when you charge to choose 'Balance' option when charging as by default it only does a charge and not balance unless you choose the balance charge option (just one more click). It also has fans on each side. Besides being small, it is very lightweight too. The monitor software and USB cable included is a cool idea, if you are a serious battery guru who wants to monitor your battery charging times at the track by using your own laptop. For the price and options, this is a must have DC charger.
JT
Verified Owner
Saturday, Mar 3 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
I bought this charger a few weeks ago and have been very pleased with it. Totally adjustable parameters. I use this with a 20A power supply and am able to charge 2 2S Lipo's at 8 amps simultaneously. You can charge up to 10A per side 6S with bigger power supply. I especially like the storage feature for Lipo's which will charge or discharge your batteries to storage voltage (also adjustable) automatically. Discharge features for NiCD and NiMH work great with cut off voltage. In a nut shell it does everything it says it will in the description. Well worth 150 bucks and A-Main shipped it fast!
Bobby Pettit
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Feb 22 2012 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
We used this charger for all our batteries at Motorama 2012 and it was fantastic!
Glenn Herbert
Verified Owner
Sunday, Oct 30 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
This charger is cool, I am super fussy when it comes to my rc gear, but Protek have nailed it with this one, it even has usb port for charging cell phones and all that type of stuff. This unit pushes out 200w per channel so can charge two batteries at a time @10amps per channel. The cooling system is awsome you can realy hear the fans working, you can even feel the air pushing out the sides. I think my favourite part of the charger is how well the heat sensitive buttons work, this thing is feature packed and for the money it amazing. Ive had many chargers over the years but this by far the best. The speed in witch you can charge your batteries really helps take the pressure off when your running a couple of cars. If your looking at spending around the $150-200 mark you need not look any further, trust me if it was no good I would be bagging it big time, but they have definitly ticked all the boxes on this one. It comes very well pakaged witch is always a good indication of what a product will be like. If I had to find a negative there would only be one, and that would the finish on plastic it not 100% perfect more like 90% but I get the feeling there products are getting better by the day and there technolgy is very up to date. So good job Protek you have one very happy customer and good job A main for bringing it to me at such a good price....Happy racing
John Pruszkowski
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Sep 7 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
When getting back to electric flying after a 3 year absence and rebuilding my LiPo collection back up I realized I needed a newer more capable charger. The 610 DUO was just the ticket, nicely made with very cool touch controls, great display and a very complete menu structure. While the menu is very complete it took me quite a while to figure out how to access these features. But once my thick brain got it, boy it's a cool device! I paired this unit up with the ProTek Super Pro 40 power supply, now I'm ready to charge any battery that I may require for years to come. If I have any complaints it would be a slightly more comprehensive owners manual. The operating info is in the little booklet style manual but a charger this capable should have all its functions explained in a more detailed step-by-step manner. All in all an excellent product.
Ruslan Korchagin
Verified Owner
Thursday, Jul 7 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
Just got one, fully satisfied. Big coolers and quality build of this charger is what you really need to charge big expensive lipos at high amp.
Rik Christiansen
Verified Owner
Sunday, May 29 2011 (about 4 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
Ordered one of these after seeing how expensive less featured chargers were. Very happy though early days.
Colter
Verified Owner
Monday, Mar 14 2011 (about 5 years ago)
ProTek RC "Prodigy 610 DUO" LiPo/LiFe/NiMH DC Battery Charger (6S/10A/200W x 2)
Update- nearly 5 months in on this charger and it continues to perform flawlessly! Don't think you will find a better one for the money. Thanks Amain!