Reviews for OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy [OFN34302]

Displaying reviews 1 to 8 of 8
Result Pages: 1
nick mann
Saturday, Jan 21 2012 (about 3 years ago)
OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy
This buggy is great for beginners or for a basher, However I saw one guy above compare it to the mbx6 eco........ It is not even close! Not as durable or as nimble, and the driveline is much more, lets say coggy the diff mesh just isn't that great. He is correct in saying the layout is pretty much the same but I own both, and while iI do think it is a good buggy the Mugen is far superior in EVERY way except price. If you need a cheap buggy that is very good buy the LX2e however if you are like me and want the very best wait for the Mugen. I own both, in my 8 or better years I have seen nothing as good as far as quality to the MBX6 ECO! However some come close 2 in mind are the Mini 8ight, NOT the full size 8ight it pales in comparison as does the Hong Nor LX2e, the other is the DEX410r! Now niether of these as 8th scale so if you are wanting the best 8th scale the is no way to put it gently GO WITH THE MUGEN!
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Jun 27 2012 (about 3 years ago)
OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy
This is a pretty awesome car for $200. I've beat on it at WCRC and OCRC for a couple months now, and it turns out some decent lap times with the stock setup with an RX8 and T8 1900kv motor. I bought heavier springs and changed the shock fluid, as well as change out the diff fluid, and now the car is a missile, keeping up with the big buck cars. Even with some seriously ugly wipe outs, I've had very few problems. It is surprisingly well balanced and well laid out (Like the Mugen and Losi) for the price, and with the 350+ dollars you save, you can afford some quality electronics and hop ups. Pick up an extra front shock tower when you buy the car and install it before you drive it, because YOU ARE GOING TO BEND IT first crash. It's a $10 part and you need (2) 4mmX15mm button head screws and some longer 3mmx30mm screws for the upper shock mounts, and with a bit of grinding on the new tower to make it fit face to face against the original one, you'll never bend it again. The front bumper is kind of brittle, so grab a couple when they are in stock. I also had a problem with the servo saver C clip working it's way out from the bottom of the spring, but it's a quick fix if you can get a washer made out of harder steel than the original. The servo saver spring will bend the original washer which allows the C clip to wiggle out while you steer. Trim the body off in front of the front mounting hole befor you paint it to make it easier to take of/install. If you don't, you may break the body clean off at the mounting hole like I did, but I got a JConcepts Mugen body to fit pretty easily with velcro, and it looks badass. If you are new to 1/8th, this is a really good way to get into racing cheap. It's shy on tunability compared to the $600 kits, but for bashing, and beginner to sportsman racing this will get the job done and then some, and if you need to get more serious down the road, you already have the electronics to add to a high dollar kit. Also, have a look at the replacement parts pricing- dirt cheap- I wish my SCTE parts were this cheap!! For me, it is all about the value, and this car delivers.
jason corporon
Friday, Oct 17 2014 (about a year ago)
OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy
I've had this car for two club level race seasons, and I've hd a blast with it. Is it the best car out there, no but I run a trackstar. Ya I said that . Trackstar 120 waterproof esc and 1900kv motor and it has been awesome. We get lakes around our outdoor track and it reaks havok on a tekin system. I just hold it down until I come out the other side. Tough car but only after adding Kingheads front and rear differential pin supports. Added a tbr bumper and balances well with smaller 3700mah 4c batteries. Just serviced the diffs and they looked great. A quick shim and ready to run again. Alittle top heavy compared to others so I run alittle lower and abit more camber and it can competes. Our track is all about staying off your roof so if they flip, I win. Well at least place anyways. Cityblocks helped the most. Cheers from northern Canada🚕🚕🚕
Zach Doarn
Sunday, Oct 20 2013 (about 2 years ago)
OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy
Fantastic car!! and versatile too, I chose the 80% roller version so I could add my own electronics and paint the body myself, and I am pretty impressed with the build quality on this car. Running the mamba monster 2200kv setup on 4s and this car is a rocket, has been durable with the exception of a broken diff case and rear suspension arm, both due to driver error. I have bought the body mounts and front bumper parts for the gtp2e along with a 1/8 scale wrx body and run this as a rally car on occasion, which it excels at, I also have a monster truck body and tires also in case I want to strictly bash, all in all this car has not disappointed. Maintenance is easy and parts availability seems to be reasonable, tremendous value
craig landry
Monday, Apr 15 2013 (about 2 years ago)
OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy
great buggy. i have for about 8 months now and havent broken a single part. i have a mamba monster with a gens ace 4s lipo pack and am getting 50mph runs. good job ofna. definetley get this buggy
Wesley Loewen
Monday, Dec 24 2012 (about 2 years ago)
OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy
I second the previous review! Great buggy for the amazing price! Very durable and fast. I do however recommend getting the ARR version so that you can choose your own electronics! For my liking the motor has too low KV from factory and needs a bigger pinion to start off with, otherwise it overheats quickly.
Saturday, Dec 22 2012 (about 2 years ago)
OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy
What jconcepts body did you use. I have this buggy and let me tell ya I love how it handles. I bash the hell out of this buggy and it never breaks. It is very durable and just fun all around.
Friday, Jul 20 2012 (about 3 years ago)
OFNA Ultra LX-2E Electric 1/8 Off Road Buggy
This buggy is amazing, its so resistant and with the right upgrades it makes a great car, its A Badass . all you need to this one is some good bumpers and your good to go