Reviews for Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive [NOV1745]

Displaying reviews 1 to 9 of 9
Result Pages: 1
Kyle Simmonds
Verified Owner
Friday, Mar 9 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
If you purchase one of these, just plan on having to send it back for repair before you even use it. Apparently this is common place with Novak products (found numerous instances of this on several forums) and even though I hear their customer service is great, I am beyond disappointed with the lack of quality control demonstrated here. My advice is to go with another brand and save yourself the time, hassle, and money of having to ship back your brand new ESC for repair.
Jacob Grams
Wednesday, Jun 13 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
A very user friendly and easy to set up esc. Has a lot of great features that can be set up and changed easily. I'm really trying to like this esc but I'm now on number 3. Like many others, there are so many issues with them failing. Thier customer service is great, but that doesn't outweigh the poor quality in their units. Novak products are very appealing and when they to work they are fantastic, however if you can, I would suggest spending a bit more money and getting a better quality esc.
Verified Owner
Saturday, Jul 9 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
My experience with the Havoc Pro SC has been very good. I purchased the Havoc to replace a GTB2 that I damaged (my fault, not Novak's) and it has performed flawlessly in the severe central Ca summer heat. I almost purchased another GTB2 but decided I wanted to try the Dynamic Timing Advance, which is a very nice feature. The Havoc Pro SC operates much in the same manner as my old GTB2, but with the added timing features. I have used the Havoc in cool weather, hot weather, without timing boost, and with some mild boost added - no problems at all, and the esc temps have never gone above 122 degrees (usually operates around 110 degrees) - well within Novak's specified safe operating range. I use the Havoc in a Factory Team T4.1 with a Reedy Life 4000 pack, and a Novak Ballistic 6.5t. The entire system works great and is a blast to drive - excellent power and good run time as well. As a side note, make sure you get your gearing right, and make nice clean solder joints - those two things make all the difference in the world. I am very pleased with this product.
Thursday, Jul 18 2013 (about 2 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
Got this running a 3.5 turn Balistic motor and have not had one issue, great esc in my opinion.
Verified Owner
Saturday, Apr 21 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
Ive had several Novak Havoc's Great Systems with no issues yet, gives the Tekin Pro4 a run for its money (Ballistic) when geared properly would recommend this Esc to anyone. I've sent one Back for a friend before (Bad Board) and Novak was great service had a new one back in a week (no additional fees at all and sent Deans plug back with it)
Alan Fundora
Saturday, Oct 8 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
I own three Novak systems with 3 Novak motors. The Novak esc's are extemely user friendly. The one touch programming is super easy. I did have problems for the first time with this Havoc Pro. Something internal went wrong after a month of Saturday races. The esc was telling me that my transmission was locked up. I did send it in to Novak Electronics. It has taken more than two weeks to get it back. They did replace it with a new one, but I now have to solder another deans plug on the esc. I did not win or lose in this transcaction. I also hear all these esc's including other brands have similiar problems. I am dissappointed with this one. I will continue to buy Novak and hope for the best.
Jarrett Ray
Tuesday, Mar 15 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
Hands down the best ESC ive ever had. Ran it in several different vehicles with different size motors and it performs flawlessly. 2wd SC10, B4.1, Tamiya TRF201. Mod motors, stock motors, Hot or cold this things just performs.
Shawn Nave
Saturday, Oct 27 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
Purchased 2 systems with the havoc PRO, one with the 8.5 540 and the other with 4.5 550. The first ESC was bad right out of the box (one of the phases wasnt working causes the motor to not work if the vehile stopped in one of the phases). The second system was for my new FT SC10 4x4 and it worked out of the box but the white LED did not work. 15 minutes later the ESC has the same problem as the first ESC. Two weels later I'm still waiting for a replacement for my first system and now I have to send in this other system. BUY ANYTHING BUT A NOVAK! Two brand new systems for two new chassis. I ran my old gear in these trucks and they work fine.
Jammin SC MAN
Tuesday, Feb 15 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Novak Havoc Pro SC Brushless ESC w/X-Drive
Bought this esc soldered it up to my motor and it started shooting out smoke and flames from the capicator. I called novak and their going to fix it. I think it will work great when it gets back. As every novak product ive had has.