Reviews for Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit [KYO31357B]

Displaying reviews 1 to 16 of 16
Result Pages: 1
Paul King
Monday, Sep 12 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
come on guys, you're rating it and it's not even out yet?! lol... Well, we've been running it, and I can tell you the new gears are saweet! We ran a ONE set of gears for the entire electric nationals. 2 full days of unlimited practice, 6 rounds of qualifying, and triple A mains. All that with a 2100 KV brushless and big 90c brick pack.. two front driveshafts, but one set of gears lol... anyhow, just giving my support to the new improved ST-RR. It's got threaded shocks, new gears, MP9 hardware, new body, outer hinge pin screws, and MP9 wing and wing mount. I think a very sensible upgrade to the truck that sets the standard by which all others are measured, ehe? :) I like this because people with the old truck can EASILY upgrade with the gears and body. All this at the same base price as the old truck... 5 stars from me.. - PK
Anthony Luciano
Verified Owner
Sunday, Aug 19 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
I had to give this thing a good run before I wrote a review. Kyosho has the worst manual I have ever looked at. I have to deduct one full point due to how bad it is. Second, the steering knuckles are cast. Since I usually break those on every kit that has them I installed the billet option ones that you have to buy. The kit seemed to be missing a couple screws that I needed. The wing yanks off VERY easy. You should install a bigger washer over the existing washer and use a slightly longer screw. I was not impressed with not having enough space to use a larger air filter. This is not a big deal, just stock a couple extra filters. After almost a full race season, I will need to adjust the brakes for the first time. Not one part has actually broken on the car. This is the most agressive 8th scale ride I have ever driven. The stock gear ratio works great for a .21 engine. You may be a tad slow with a sport engine but a racing engine will prove to be awesome. Steering radius is better than all my 8th scale rides. If you really take the time to examine the truck you see why the price is high. It is all the billet, anodized parts that other OEMs sell as option parts. Even after a season, the drive line is still butter smooth. There are no fluids or greases in the box and you must buy those seperatly. Performance wise, the rig is stellar and a worthy buy. If I could take a half point I would have rated this 3.5/5. Reasons are the manual, the cast steering knuckles and the lack of hardware/fluids. Well, I give it a 4/5 in the end...
everette wigal
Wednesday, Jan 18 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
ya know i have been race n a long time, spent alot of time replaceing worn out parts on other brands, since buying kyosho i spend alilmore up front and get a good R/C CAR that holds up and in the end i save time and MONEY not having to replace worn out parts. i get alot more track time and less time on the bench fix n dumb stuff, plus you dont need to buy 3 to 4 hundred dollars of upgrade parts to keep up its in the box. so think about that when you complain about price
TheChapThatWins
Wednesday, Aug 6 2014 (about a year ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Right, Its hard to describe just how good this truck is and i feel normal description of its quality, ease of setup and numerous other strong points will fall short of a true representation. Let me use an analogy. Have you seen Avatar©? You know the scene where the Na'vi mount the Direhorse and connect their neural queue to one of the animal's antennae? Well, once intertwined, the Na'vi rider can communicate motor commands instantly through the neural interface. The apparent lack of effort makes it seem as if the Direhorse is an extension of the rider's own body. This frees up the Na'vi to use a bow and arrow during a hunt or battle. This is sort of what its like racing this truck, there is a connection, a feeling, an understanding.. The more the driver wants to win, the more the truck wants to help. If the driver is having a bad day, the truck will take up the slack. It is a special chemistry rarely experienced in RC, and i think that is what makes this truck truly special.
Everett Lesueur
Sunday, Mar 23 2014 (about a year ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Super easy to drive, instructions aren't the best though. Did the e-conversion ( Kyosho ) and it is perfect. Cast steering knuckles are just fine, although for 830 dollars they should be machined. Chassis and parts are basic and proven to work. I have had kyosho, Mugen, Hotbodies and losi truggy and put them in order from best to worst. Needed to Dremel the steering plate to get full throw on steering but mod was free. Great truck.
kristion green
Verified Owner
Friday, Feb 7 2014 (about a year ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
i got the truck in on 2-5-2013 and I started around noon and going thru the book on the car its kind of confusing on certain parts you will need extra tool grease all the ball joints they seem to go in easy that way...its now Friday and I have the front and rear together with the steering I just started the radio tray and im making a custom battery tray for it so I can mount a bigger battery by the steering servo.....the front and rear diffs need to be shimmed I cant remember how many but I know it was a lot the wheel extenders need to be shimmed also....over all its been a slow build I didn't want to rush the build then have to go back and do it again if you get this car get the motor mount spacers from m2c racing and just do the battery mod. you can google "st rr evo under the hood" for some pics and ideas of the battery mod great truck I like It so far I drove my friends and its real smooth just take your time with the build lock thread and oil or grease and thing with joint balls and use oil on the shocks buts so they don't rip
rey ortiz
Friday, Jan 27 2012 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Kyosho is the best RC. If you can not afford it, buy a traxxas or you can also buy a Electrix RUCKUS . Kyosho is well recognized around the world and Kyosho wins most of championships around the world too. I have 12 kyoshos and you know I very happy with their product; and all the parts are made in Japan no in China. Yes ,they are expesive; but last longer.
Matthew Gordon
Monday, Oct 3 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Any real racer will appreciate that it comes with no tires and pick whats proper instead of throwing away the kit ones. But, throwing in a set of AKA soft CityBlocks wouldn't have been a bad choice either.
Marian Miller
Tuesday, Aug 30 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Alright what is everyone complaining about ?! Everyone is just being stupid when it comes down to it , this is the truggy to have all whining aside , this is a world class truggy driven by the national & world champions . This also costs less than the buggy because the buggy comes with more aftermarket parts than the truggy . Just remember they made the body look like a caddy for a reason "BECAUSE IT DRIVES LIKE ONE" & that's all you really need to know . Beautiful truggy
KWils
Verified Owner
Thursday, Apr 5 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
This was my first time building a kit and the truck was super easy to put together. Got it on a friday and finished it up Sunday afternoon, working on it until late the first night and a couple hours Saturday and Sunday. Everything fit together tightly and perfectly. Got my Novarossi P5XLT mounted up and ripped it around a bit Sunday night. Truggy handles awesome. I'm dying to find time to paint my shell so I can get it on the track. There is an addendum in there calling for a different screw type, can't remember what step but don't let that get ya! Oh, and also don't put the upper hinge pin E-clips on the lower hinge pins, there's 2 different sizes. You'll stretch them out like I did, although, you can take pliers and pinch them back down to size. Awesome experience, if I had the money I'd buy another one! P.S. Once you get this you're going to be so excited to put together that I thought I'd share a couple tips to help make your experience the best. Get the tools required in the instructions for setup (luckily I had all this on hand). For those that want to know what they are now, here goes: Digital calipers Strong pair of wire snips Needle nose pliers Kit doesn't come with fluids or grease Camber gauge Droop gauge Tiny phillips head screwdriver. All the radio boxes I've seen have phillips screws in them.
nicholas ramos
Tuesday, Aug 16 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Typical Kyosho... I love the brand but for the love of Jah they need to lower the prices. They blame it on the yen...
Drstrangelove
Verified Owner
Wednesday, Apr 4 2012 (about 3 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
I was actually surprise and freak out when I received the package from UPS. It is so small! I was so worried that Amain might sent me the wrong item. When I open the package the EVO box is so small and I thought Amain really sent me the wrong truggy. I confirm and double confirm and it is right. It show Inferno ST-RR EVO. Man, this box is half the size of MP9 TKI2! Actually I think I might know why this truggy is cheaper than the buggy. It's due to the packaging and I think Kyosho save on the materials and the shipping cost due to the box size being smaller than the buggy box. So Kyosho might transfer the saving to us by reducing the cost.
Garyn Hiscott
Wednesday, Aug 31 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Really? $829.99 for a Kyosho and no tires? What the hell is wrong with Kyosho?
mike solis
Tuesday, Jul 26 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
--------------------------_Cant wait_-----------------------
Martin Plourde
Sunday, Sep 4 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Well! Kyosho are really good in R/Cs trucks for race... sure! But, to be ready to spend a lot of money, you need to be really in love with this name!!! That is TOOOOO expensive! Overrate quality!
Your MOM
Wednesday, Jul 27 2011 (about 4 years ago)
Kyosho Inferno ST-RR EVO Competition 1/8 Scale Truck Kit
Uusally the truggies are more than the buggies. Something seems fishy here. ?