Reviews for HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine) [HPI10610]

Displaying reviews 1 to 8 of 8
Result Pages: 1
michael fosdick
Saturday, Mar 7 2009 (about 6 years ago)
HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine)
Update Review: My rear tires DID wear out as everyone else said they would. They did not wear out at first but after 8 tanks the centers are bald on the rears and its spreading outwords even though I only drive on dirt and grass. I will be getting Proline Bow Ties or Proline Badlands. Also I broke 2 bulkheads so far one was my fault the other maybe maybe not so I got an aluminum one for $50 and we'll see how that goes. I am also getting axle extenders in the future for all four corners so I can turn a little more agressively without flipping. I have not had any problems with the hexes in the rims or with my SS exhaust yet as others said I would. -//- Cheaper than $1100 race built truggies! Unique, fast, loud! I drive on grass and loose dirt only and my tires don't show any signs of wear at all. I did put 4848 dirt buster (same tread as rear) tires on the front for much better steering response. I built it in 14 hours but feel I could cut that time down to 10 or less if I ever built another. It can be ran without the body which is a plus if you build it in winter and its too cold in your garage to paint the body. Fuel is cheap (25:1 oil+gas) and NGK spark plugs are around $4.50. The spark plugs are reuseable if you remove them and clean them with a spark plug cleaning tool! My engine idle, H, and L were spot on but after 3 tanks I leaned H 1-2 hours becuase my first plug fouled. I am getting 40+ minutes out of each tank in the wide open grass. Be very careful if jumping as there is no correcting it in air! And do not expect it to jump 30ft like and 1/8 scale! On my second tank I broke a rear shock shaft-no big deal $18 for two. I hit a tree (my fault) and really smashed the front end bad so do yourself a favor and BUY A BUMPER because this is expensive to crash. I recommend a steel bumper such as dark soul. Most of the metal parts can be hammered back to there original shape though in event of a crash though if the main chassis needs to be replaced it is $75-$135 depending on where you buy it. I think of PARTS COST like this: 1/5 is twice the cost of 1/8 which is twice the cost of 1/10. Also anymore it seems a race built 1/10 VEHICLE is $500+, a RACE BUILT 1/8 VEHICLE is $1100+, and the RACE BUILT 1/5 VEHICLE $1000+. The recent first ever HPI Baja races was won by a RTR 5b with a few SS parts so yes you can build a 5b racer for less than $1000! When taken into context the initial price seems fair. The larger you go the more money it costs for a crash repair. Of course if you crash BIG you will pay really BIG with 1/5 scale. RECOMMENDED HOPUPS: DARK SOUL STEEL BUMPER, 3000MAH RX PACK, DIRT BUSTER FRONT TIRES, OUTERWEARS PULLSTART COVER, SPARE NGK PLUGS, 2.4 GHZ RADIO W/FAILSAFE.
David Fountain
Verified Owner
Tuesday, Apr 24 2012 (about 3 years ago)
HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine)
I Just finished building this buggy a few days ago and just now have three tanks run through the engine "Idled the first tank and kept the speed down for the second tank varying the load on the engine then ran short bursts of full power for the third tank" It is still somewhat tight but will improve as it is run, very easy to break in! Anyway as far as the build is concerned The buggy builds well, it is very easy to build so don't let this box full of parts intimidate you! All the parts fit great and come in marked bags that build bag by bag according to the instructions which are well layed out. The illustrations are clear and are not confusing compared to some of the other car brands that I have built however I recommend that you watch the many build videos that carter to the Baja series on the net which will about answer any question you may have about building this kit. Its handling is good for its size and weight out of the box I haven't had a chance to set it up yet so I know it will improve! It is not hard to handle and literately floats over the bumps and ruts and tracks great and is loads of fun to drive! Breaking is great too, brought it down from speed to a complete stop in short order. Now a few words; this buggy is a fun and easy build and could be easily built by a newcomer however while this buggy is easy to setup and drive, this buggy is heavy and takes a little time to get used to, this buggy is not as nimble and responsive as an 1/8 or 1/10 scale and will not accelerate, jump or stop like one so I would In my opinion recommend against choosing this buggy for your first RC due to its weight and size. You do not want this thing hitting you or someone else! Also this kit comes with a small bottle of oil to get you started, Follow the directions on the bottle! because it is not enough to make a gallon! I also recommend outwears for the pull start and air filter. All in all this kit is wonderful and I had a good time building it and so far have had a blast running it! I'll post more as I run it take care folks!
Tuesday, Feb 16 2010 (about 5 years ago)
HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine)
I have never loved a car more. Easy to build and gas is like 3 dollars a gallon!!
Verified Owner
Monday, Feb 14 2011 (about 4 years ago)
HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine)
AWESOME KIT!!! Car is very fast and very easy to build. Takes some time to build but that is half the fun of it. Very Good deal.
don haverly
Monday, Nov 10 2008 (about 7 years ago)
HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine)
Awesome buggy builds quickly, loads of fun, would buy ten of them if I had the money worth every penny ............ -//- awsome car saving money to buy one seen one today, baddest thing i've saw since i've been in the r/c hobby..........
jason mcclure
Verified Owner
Sunday, Jul 27 2008 (about 7 years ago)
HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine)
well I have had it for a while now and still love it . it hard to keep rear tire in good shape they where out fast I even bought some of hostile hobby hard mx tires they lasting a little bite longer.I will buy a front brake kit for it. I still like not having to tune the motor but once .and it handles great for it size just imagine a really big 1/10 scale race buggy and that's what it is like.It jumps great after you learn how to set up for it first because you cant control it in the air like smaller cars. I have broken the front wheel off of it but all it takes is a 7mm e-clip snap it back on and your ready to rock again. It's made that way to keep it from braking something more important. All in all it's the best rc model I have and ive got alot of them any thing from t-maxxs to savages - lst 2 -jammin x1-crt,hyper 8.5- firehammer-ofna ultra mbx- custom made rock crawlers-hpi rs4 drift version-losi micro t - jato 3.3 -rc 10 gt 2 and of coarse the baja 5b ss. And in my opinion Its the best worth every penny -//- TRULY A AWSOME CAR. handles great to be as big as it is.the 26 cc engine is great plenty of power .the kit goes together fairly easy it will take about 10-20 hours to put together but is fun I love to build my own cars and this was only my third kit that I,ve built .theres only two upgrades that I see that I will need thats a pull start cover and some new rear tires . the stock tires dont last long at all I have only driven mine three times on dirt and the knobies are already riping off but that comes with alot of power that the engine makes. you will get between 40-60 minuets of run time out of a tank of fuel and not have to constantly tune the engine like nitro's. the tuned pipe that comes in the kit is nice and is very loud it sounds like a small mx bike. and only having to pay $4.00 a gallon for fuel insted of $30 for nitro is reall nice dont get me wrong I love my nitro cars and trucks but I believe this one will be used alot more. If you can afford it buy it you will not be dissapointed. also by the way make sure to get the hpi 3000 mah hump pack or one that is larger
Mohd Azeem
Tuesday, Jan 22 2008 (about 7 years ago)
HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine)
this piece of gasoline is just superb! the rtr is excellent but this one is one star ahead. had some problems with the shocks but overall its great. Buy it and you will love it! It has many hop up parts included compared to the rtr. :)
Charles Brown
Tuesday, May 25 2010 (about 5 years ago)
HPI Racing 1/5 Baja 5B SS Kit w/Clear Body (26cc Gasoline Engine)
I own a T4. first electric in fifteen years got novak brushless and lipo love it! was going to go with FT SC10 but between all of you and HPI and the fact that pump gas is cheap im hooked and not even thinking of the SC10. ive always been good with tuning nitro thats why I stayed with it for so long but its still a head ache and glow plugs and fuel will break you. im saving for a Baja 5B and I already ordered a RPM SC10 bumper in prep but will just put it in on my T4 to protect the chassis and I also have the DX2S telemitry raidio system on the way now cant wait to order this buggy the combo will be awsome. nothing but feilds where I live and the T4 dont like talll grass tired of chasing it out and i dont want pert busting monster truck. I think this is the car for me